Skip to main content

Hamblen

511 West 2nd North Street
Morristown, TN 37814
(423) 586-1931
http://hamblencountytn.gov

COUNTY DETAILS

Year Originated: 1870
County Road Miles: 406.00
Number of Parcels: 31,459
Incorporated Cities or Towns: Morristown (29137), White Pine (2196)

ECONOMY & POPULATION

2019 Gross Domestic Product (GDP): $4.56 B
2020 Population: 64,499
2020 Population per Square Mile: 400.61
2020 Labor Force: 34,360
2020 Unemployment Rate: 6.70%

COUNTY STRUCTURE

County Structure: Traditional
Legislative Body: Board of Commissioners
# of Legislators: 16
Development District: East Tennessee Development District
Judicial District: 3

LEGAL AUTHORITY

Fiscal Procedures Law: General Law
Budgeting Law: General Law, Private Acts of 1979 Chapter 101
Purchasing Law: County Purchasing Law of 1983
Private Acts: Hamblen County Private Acts
County Mayor Bill Brittain (423) 586-1931
BBrittain@co.hamblen.tn.us
Hwy Chief Admin Off Barry Poole (423) 586-3273
bgouge@co.hamblen.tn.us
Administrator of Elections Jeff Gardner (423) 586-7169
jgardner@co.hamblen.tn.us
Assessor of Property Keith Ely (423) 586-1852
kely@co.hamblen.tn.us
Circuit Court Clerk Teresa West (423) 586-5640
twest@co.hamblen.tn.us
Clerk & Master Kathy Jones-Terry (423) 586-9112
kathy.jones-terry@tncourts.gov
County Attorney Chris Capps (423) 307-3868
County Clerk Peggy Henderson (423) 586-1993
phenderson@cohamblen.tn.us
Director of Schools Jeff Perry (423) 586-7700
Finance/Budget Director Amanda Hale (423) 586-1931
General Sessions Court Judge Wayne Collins
General Sessions Court Judge Blake Sempkowski (423) 585-4567
Purchasing Agent Johnna Harrell (423) 586-1931
jharrell@co.hamblen.tn.us
Register of Deeds Jim Clawson (423) 586-6551
jclawson@co.hamblen.tn.us
Sheriff Chad Mullins (423) 586-3781
cmullins@co.hamblen.tn.us
Solid Waste Director Dan Winter (423) 581-8784
hcmswa@lcs.net
Trustee Scotty Long (423) 586-6290
scotty.long@co.hamblen.tn.us
Number of Commissioners: 14
Number of Commission Districts: 14
County Legislative Meeting Information: 5:00 p.m. - Thursday following 3rd Monday

County Commissioner Debbie Ahearn (423) 231-8058
dblue4560@msn.com
County Commissioner Christopher Cutshaw (423) 312-0667
Cjmoose@live.com
County Commissioner Thomas Doty (423) 748-3252
thomasdoty67@gmail.com
County Commissioner Edna Greene
County Commissioner Stan Harville (423) 587-2684
harvilledistrict10@gmail.com
County Commissioner Robert Haun (423) 312-9051
bobbyhaun@att.net
County Commissioner Timothy Horner (423) 586-9900
thorner59@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Peggy Howell
County Commissioner Joe Huntsman Sr. (423) 581-9153
jhuntsman@co.hamblen.tn.us
County Commissioner Rodney Long
County Commissioner Wayne Nesmith (423) 312-1120
waynenesmith82@gmail.com
County Commissioner Mike Reed
County Commissioner Mike Richardson (423) 736-3838
mwrichardson@charter.net
County Commissioner Kyle Walker K1699walkerkw@gmail.com
Highway Commissioner Charles Anderson
Highway Commissioner Dannie Bell
Highway Commissioner Gail Free
Highway Commissioner Tom Hyde
Highway Commissioner E. Long
Highway Commissioner Delbert Nix
Highway Commissioner Wayne Pigmon
Highway Commissioner David Rich

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Rick Hall
Environmental Consultant: Kim Raia
Assessor Consultant: Gabe Looney
Criminal Justice Consultant:
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart