Skip to main content

Smith

122 Turner High Circle
Carthage, TN 37030
(615) 735-2294
http://smithcountychamber.org

Smith County Legislative Body

Number of Commissioners: 24
Number of Commission Districts: 8
County Legislative Meeting Information: 7:00 p.m. - 2nd Monday in January, March, May, July, September, and November

Smith County Demographics

Year Originated: 1799
County Structure: Traditional
Development District: Upper Cumberland Development District
Judicial District: 15
2020 Population: 19,904
2020 Population per Square Mile: 63.39
2010 Population: 19,166
County Road Miles: 445.00
Number of Parcels: 12,831

Incorporated Cities or Towns: Carthage (2306), Gordonsville (1213), South Carthage (1322)

Smith County Legal Authority

Fiscal Procedures Law: General Law
Budgeting Law: General Law
Purchasing Law: County Purchasing Law of 1983
County Mayor Jeff S Mason (615)735-2294
jmason@smithcountytn.gov
Interim Hwy Chief Admin Off Mickey Barrett (615) 683-3326
Administrator of Elections Yvonne Gibbs (615) 735-8241
ygibbs@smithcountyelection.com
Assessor of Property Terry Collins (615) 735-1750
terry.collins@cot.tn.gov
Circuit Court Clerk Thomas Lee Turner (615) 735-0500
tommy.turner@tncourts.gov
Clerk & Master Thomas Dillehay (615) 735-2092
Thomas.Dillehay@tncourts.gov
County Clerk Clifa L Norris (615) 735-9833
Director of Schools Barry Smith (615) 735-9625
Finance/Budget Director Daisy Denton (615) 588-1595
General Sessions Court Judge David Bass (615) 735-2286
Register of Deeds Jerri Lin Vaden-Malone (615) 735-1760
Sheriff Steve Hopper (615) 735-2626
Sheriff@smithcountytn.gov
Trustee Lee Ann Williams (615) 735-8242
leeann@smithcountytn.gov
County Commissioner Tommy L Bane (615) 735-2144
tommybane@outlook.com
County Commissioner William S Bass (615)735-1212
bassbilly1123@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Erika Laurin Ebel (615)739-3649
erikaebel@gmail.com
County Commissioner Thomas A Gibbs (615) 735-0492
tag1960@comcast.net
County Commissioner Terry Wayne Givens (615)489-0247
kentuckyblitz@gmail.com
County Commissioner David W Gross (615) 735-1000
dgross203@hotmail.com, dgross203@icloud.com
County Commissioner Dennis J Hackett (615)735-0168
deno2960@icloud.com
County Commissioner Barbara A Kannapel (615) 489-5900
kannapelb@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Charles Kent (615)476-6328
County Commissioner Greta K Kirby (615)735-2429
cjlk@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Colby L McKinney (615)489-0572
colbymckinney@outlook.com
County Commissioner Roy Shannon Minchey (615)418-6632
shannon_minchey@gmail.com
County Commissioner Joseph Edwin Nixon (615)418-6577
nixon.joey@gmail.com
County Commissioner Linda L Nixon (615)683-6562
nanal-22@hotmail.com
County Commissioner Thomas Dalton Paschal (615)684-3907
daltonpaschal@rocketmail.com
County Commissioner Jason Clay Powell
County Commissioner Billy K Reece
County Commissioner Glen E Reece (615) 774-3646
rcspcs5@hotmail.com
County Commissioner Ronald Stephen Shumake (931)728-1460
rmshumake@hughes.net
County Commissioner Jason L Stewart
County Commissioner Eddie Stout (615) 418-4379
estout@smithcountytn.gov
County Commissioner James Kenneth Winfree (615) 489-0491
County Commissioner Frank E Woodard (615)897-2930

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Ben Rodgers
Environmental Consultant: Kim Raia
Assessor Consultant: Gabe Looney
Criminal Justice Consultant: John Rose
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart