Skip to main content

Smith

122 Turner High Circle
Carthage, TN 37030
(615) 735-2294
http://smithcountychamber.org

COUNTY DETAILS

Year Originated: 1799
County Road Miles: 445.00
Number of Parcels: 12,831
Incorporated Cities or Towns: Carthage (2306), Gordonsville (1213), South Carthage (1322)

ECONOMY & POPULATION

2019 Gross Domestic Product (GDP): $4.56 B
2020 Population: 19,904
2020 Population per Square Mile: 63.39
2020 Labor Force: 34,360
2020 Unemployment Rate: 6.70%

COUNTY STRUCTURE

County Structure: Traditional
Legislative Body: Board of Commissioners
# of Legislators: 16
Development District: Upper Cumberland Development District
Judicial District: 15

LEGAL AUTHORITY

Fiscal Procedures Law: General Law
Budgeting Law: General Law
Purchasing Law: County Purchasing Law of 1983
Private Acts: Smith County Private Acts
County Mayor Jeff Mason (615) 735-2294
jmason@smithcountytn.gov
Hwy Chief Admin Off Mickey Barrett (615) 683-3326
mbarrett@smithcountytn.gov
Administrator of Elections Yvonne Gibbs (615) 735-8241
ygibbs@smithcountyelection.com
Assessor of Property Terry Collins (615) 735-1750
terry.collins@cot.tn.gov
Circuit Court Clerk Thomas Turner (615) 735-0500
tommy.turner@tncourts.gov
Clerk & Master Jessie Goad (615) 735-2092
County Attorney Jeremiah Hassler (615) 281-8479
jeremy@hasslerlaw.net
County Clerk Clifa Norris (615) 735-9833
Director of Schools Barry Smith (615) 735-9625
Finance/Budget Director Daisy Denton (615) 588-1595
General Sessions Court Judge David Bass (615) 735-2286
Register of Deeds Jerri Vaden-Malone (615) 735-1760
Sheriff Steve Hopper (615) 735-2626
Sheriff@smithcountytn.gov
Solid Waste Director Johnny Lee (615) 683-7927
jlee@smithcountytn.gov
Trustee Julie Wright (615) 735-8242
Number of Commissioners: 24
Number of Commission Districts: 8
County Legislative Meeting Information: 7:00 p.m. - 2nd Monday in January, March, May, July, September, and November

County Commissioner Tommy Bane (615) 735-2144
tommybane@outlook.com
County Commissioner Scotty Barrett
County Commissioner William Bass (615) 735-1212
bassbilly1123@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Timothy Bellar Timboy1963@gmail.com
County Commissioner Edward De La Rosa edelarosa286@gmail.com
County Commissioner Erika Ebel (615) 739-3649
erikaebel@gmail.com
County Commissioner Casey Elrod
County Commissioner Junior Fields Jwfields6552@gmail.com
County Commissioner Terry Givens (615) 489-0247
kentuckyblitz@gmail.com
County Commissioner Danny Huff
County Commissioner Matthew Inyart (615) 542-3194
minyart@smithcountytn.gov
County Commissioner Danny Irizarry
County Commissioner Charles Kent (615) 476-6328
County Commissioner Greta Kirby (615) 735-2429
cjlk@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Steven Lish Stevenlish@gmail.com
County Commissioner Justin Mauldin
County Commissioner Stephanie Mccaleb
County Commissioner Connor Mcdonald connormcdonald197@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Chris Nixon
County Commissioner Billy Reece
County Commissioner Cordell Smith Jr.
County Commissioner Eddie Stout (615) 418-4379
estout@smithcountytn.gov
County Commissioner Helen Vose h_vose@yahoo.com

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Ben Rodgers
Environmental Consultant: Kim Raia
Assessor Consultant: Gabe Looney
Criminal Justice Consultant:
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart