Skip to main content

Unicoi

P.O. Box 169
Erwin, TN 37650
(423) 743-9391
https://unicoicounty.org

Unicoi County Demographics

Year Originated: 1875
County Structure: Traditional
Development District: First Tennessee Development District
Judicial District: 1
2020 Population: 17,928
2020 Population per Square Mile: 96.39
2010 Population: 18,313
County Road Miles: 325.83
Number of Parcels: 11,234

Incorporated Cities or Towns: Erwin (6097), Unicoi (3632)

Unicoi County Legal Authority

Fiscal Procedures Law: General Law
Budgeting Law: General Law
Purchasing Law: County Purchasing Law of 1983
Unicoi County Private Acts
County Mayor Garland Evely (423) 743-9391
garlandevely@gmail.com
Hwy Chief Admin Off Terry Haynes (423) 743-6171
terrylhaynes54@gmail.com
Administrator of Elections Sarah Bailey (423) 743-6521
Assessor of Property Teresa Kinsler (423) 743-3801
teresa.kinsler@cot.tn.gov
Circuit Court Clerk Darren Shelton (423) 743-3541
courtclerk@unicoicountytn.gov
Clerk & Master Teresa Simerly (423) 743-9541
unicoichancery@gmail.com
County Attorney Doug Shults (423) 743-9179
doug@shultsandshults.com
County Clerk Patty Treadway (423) 743-3381
Director of Schools John English (423) 743-1600
General Sessions Court Judge R. Mitchell Manuel (423) 743-3541
judgemanuel@unicoicountytn.gov
Register of Deeds Deborah Tittle (423) 743-6104
debbiet@titlesearcher.com
Sheriff Michael Hensley (423) 743-1855
sheriff@unicoicountytn.gov
Trustee Katie Bennett (423) 743-3011
unicoicountytrustee@hotmail.com
Number of Commissioners: 9
Number of Commission Districts: 3
County Legislative Meeting Information: 6:00 p.m. - 4th Monday of each month

County Commissioner Brian Delp (423) 342-7171
briandelp2001@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Wayne Edwards
County Commissioner Jamie Harris II (423) 735-9513
harris_jamie221@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Jason Harris (423) 388-0067
2406harris@gmail.com
County Commissioner Stephen Hendrix (423) 794-0733
hendrixs@gmail.com
County Commissioner Tim Lingerfelt
County Commissioner John Mosley (423) 306-3175
john_mosley@comcast.net
County Commissioner Cody Scott
County Commissioner Loren Thomas (423) 557-7399
loren.thomas@hotmail.com

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Rick Hall
Environmental Consultant: Kim Raia
Assessor Consultant: Gabe Looney
Criminal Justice Consultant:
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart