Skip to main content

Marion

P.O. Box 789
Jasper, TN 37347
(423) 942-2552
https://marioncountytn.net

COUNTY DETAILS

Year Originated: 1817
County Road Miles: 342.75
Number of Parcels: 21,760
Incorporated Cities or Towns: Chattanooga (167674), Jasper (3323), Kimball (1395), Monteagle (1192), New Hope (1082), Orme (126), Powells Crossroads (1322), South Pittsburg (2992), Whitwell (1699)

ECONOMY & POPULATION

2019 Gross Domestic Product (GDP): $4.56 B
2020 Population: 28,837
2020 Population per Square Mile: 57.67
2020 Labor Force: 34,360
2020 Unemployment Rate: 6.70%

COUNTY STRUCTURE

County Structure: Traditional
Legislative Body: Board of Commissioners
# of Legislators: 16
Development District: Southeast Tennessee Development District
Judicial District: 12

LEGAL AUTHORITY

Fiscal Procedures Law: General Law
Budgeting Law: General Law
Purchasing Law: County Purchasing Law of 1983
Private Acts: Marion County Private Acts
County Mayor George Jackson Jr. (423) 942-2552
djackson@marioncountytn.net
Interim Hwy Chief Admin Off Andy Morrison (423) 942-2581
marion.hwy.dept@gmail.com
Administrator of Elections Kyra Inglis (423) 942-2108
Assessor of Property Darrell Pittman (423) 942-3494
dpittman2@marioncountytn.net
Circuit Court Clerk Lonna Henderson (423) 942-2134
lhenderson@marioncountytn.net
Clerk & Master Paige Mashburn (423) 942-2601
paige.mashburn@tncourts.gov
County Attorney William Gouger (423) 942-9975
bgouger@cameron-gouger.com
County Clerk Joanie Spangler (423) 942-2515
Director of Schools Mark Griffith (423) 942-3434
General Sessions Court Judge Marshall Raines Jr. (423) 942-2134
Jail Administrator Tammy Mcalpin (423) 942-8027
tammymcalpin@marioncosheriff.com
Juvenile Court Judge Ronnie Blevins II (423) 942-9444
Register of Deeds Debbie Pittman (423) 942-2573
marionrodtn@titlesearcher.com
Sheriff Ronnie Burnett (423) 942-2525
ronnieburnett@marioncosheriff.com
Solid Waste Director Mark Payne (423) 942-8011
Trustee Bertha Massengale (423) 942-2681
mctruste@bellsouth.net
Number of Commissioners: 15
Number of Commission Districts: 5
County Legislative Meeting Information: 6:30 p.m. - 4th Monday each month

County Commissioner Ralph Abbott davidabbott@csb.org
County Commissioner Don Adkins Jr. dadkins@marioncountytn.net
County Commissioner Donald Blansett dblansett@marioncountytn.net
County Commissioner Matthew Blansett mblansett@marioncountytn.net
County Commissioner Joe Blevins Jr. (423) 488-4586
autofashions@aol.com
County Commissioner Ruric Brandt Ruric@ruricit.onmicrosoft.com
County Commissioner Logan Campbell Campbell.logan0712@gmail.com
County Commissioner Steven Franklin (423) 290-8391
stevenandjeanfranklin@gmail.com
County Commissioner Robert Hargis (423) 942-2525
ghargis@marioncountytn.net
County Commissioner Linda Mason
County Commissioner Chris Morrison Seqcoad@gmail.com
County Commissioner Jimmy Nunley (423) 593-8058
maninblue118@aol.com
County Commissioner Denny Rollins
County Commissioner Paul Schafer pschafer1@comcast.net
County Commissioner Peggy Thompson

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Heather Duncan
Environmental Consultant: Kim Raia
Assessor Consultant: Gabe Looney
Criminal Justice Consultant:
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart