Skip to main content

Sumner

355 Belvedere Drive
Gallatin, TN 37066
(615) 452-3604
https://sumnercountytn.gov/

COUNTY DETAILS

Year Originated: 1786
County Road Miles: 785.00
Number of Parcels: 78,609
Incorporated Cities or Towns: Gallatin (34473), Goodlettsville (15921), Hendersonville (51372), Millersville (6440), Mitchellville (189), Portland (11480), Westmoreland (2206), White House (11600)

ECONOMY & POPULATION

2019 Gross Domestic Product (GDP): $4.56 B
2020 Population: 196,281
2020 Population per Square Mile: 371.04
2020 Labor Force: 34,360
2020 Unemployment Rate: 6.70%

COUNTY STRUCTURE

County Structure: Traditional
Legislative Body: Board of Commissioners
# of Legislators: 16
Development District: Greater Nashville Regional Council
Judicial District: 18

LEGAL AUTHORITY

Fiscal Procedures Law: Private Acts of 2012 Chapter 70
Budgeting Law: Private Acts of 2012 Chapter 70
Purchasing Law: Private Acts of 2012 Chapter 70
Private Acts: Sumner County Private Acts
County Executive John Isbell (615) 452-3604
Hwy Chief Admin Off Toby Ellis (615) 452-2632
Administrator of Elections Lori Atchley (615) 452-1456
latchley@sumnertn.org
Assessor of Property John Isbell (615) 452-2412
johncisbell@sumnertn.org
Circuit Court Clerk Kathryn Strong (615) 452-4367
kathryn.strong@tncourts.gov
Clerk & Master Mark Smith (615) 442-1224
mark.smith@tncourts.gov
County Attorney Leah Dennen (615) 451-6060
leahmay@sumnercountylaw.com
County Clerk Carolyn Templeton (615) 452-4063
Director of Schools Del Phillips (615) 451-5200
del.phillips@sumnerschools.org
Finance/Budget Director David Lawing (615) 451-6026
dlawing@sumnertn.org
General Sessions Court Judge Barry Brown (615) 452-4332
judgebrown@scjcourt.org
General Sessions Court Judge David Howard
General Sessions Court Judge James Hunter (615) 452-2288
judy.wilson@tncourts.org
Register of Deeds Holly Hemmrich (615) 452-3892
Sheriff Sonny Weatherford sweatherford@sumnersheriff.com
Solid Waste Director Larry Wright (615) 452-1114
lewright@bellsouth.net
Trustee Cindy Williams (615) 452-1260
cwilliams@sumnertn.org
Number of Commissioners: 24
Number of Commission Districts: 24
County Legislative Meeting Information: 7:00 p.m. - 3rd Monday of each month

County Commissioner Jerry Becker Jerry.Becker@SumnerCountyTN.gov
County Commissioner Terri Boyt terri.boyt@sumnercountytn.gov
County Commissioner Robert Brown III Robert.Brown@SumnerCountyTN.gov
County Commissioner Shannon Burgdorf Shannon.Burgdorf@SumnerCountyTN.gov
County Commissioner Mary Genung Mary.Genung@SumnerCountyTN.gov
County Commissioner Benjamin Harris (615) 804-2583
Ben.Harris@SumnerCountyTN.gov
County Commissioner Mark Harrison (270) 935-0984
mark.harrison@sumnercountytn.gov
County Commissioner Deborah Holmes Deborah.Holmes@SumnerCountyTN.gov
County Commissioner Merrol Hyde (615) 451-5200
Merrol.Hyde@SumnerCountyTN.gov
County Commissioner Tim Jones Tim.Jones@SumnerCountyTN.gov
County Commissioner David Klein David.Klein@SumnerCountyTN.gov
County Commissioner Dillon Lamberth Dillon.lamberth@sumnercountytn.gov
County Commissioner Jeremy Mansfield (615) 851-7004
jmansfield@sumnercountytn.org
County Commissioner Chrissi Miller Chrissi.Miller@SumnerCountyTN.gov
County Commissioner Terry Moss Terry.Moss@SumnerCountyTN.gov
County Commissioner Kevin Pomeroy Kevin.Pomeroy@SumnerCountyTN.gov
County Commissioner Baker Ring (615) 230-6819
Baker.Ring@SumnerCountyTN.gov
County Commissioner Darrell Rogers darrell.rogers@sumnercountytn.gov
County Commissioner Don Schmit Don.Schmit@SumnerCountyTN.gov
County Commissioner Matthew Shoaf Matthew.Shoaf@SumnerCountyTN.gov
County Commissioner Danny Sullivan Danny.Sullivan@SumnerCountyTN.gov
County Commissioner Jamie Teachenor (615) 319-7872
jamie.teachenor@sumnercountytn.gov
County Commissioner Terry Wright (615) 804-5722
Terry.Wright@SumnerCountyTN.gov
County Commissioner Wes Wynne (615) 581-7103
jweswynne@sumnercountytn.gov

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Wesley Robertson
Environmental Consultant: Mike Stooksberry
Assessor Consultant: Joe Griffin
Criminal Justice Consultant:
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart