Skip to main content

Hancock

P.O. Box 347
Sneedville, TN 37869
(423) 733-4341
http://www.hancockcountytn.com

COUNTY DETAILS

Year Originated: 1844
County Road Miles: 346.00
Number of Parcels: 6,101
Incorporated Cities or Towns: Sneedville (1387)

ECONOMY & POPULATION

2019 Gross Domestic Product (GDP): $4.56 B
2020 Population: 6,662
2020 Population per Square Mile: 30.01
2020 Labor Force: 34,360
2020 Unemployment Rate: 6.70%

COUNTY STRUCTURE

County Structure: Traditional
Legislative Body: Board of Commissioners
# of Legislators: 16
Development District: First Tennessee Development District
Judicial District: 3

LEGAL AUTHORITY

Fiscal Procedures Law: General Law
Budgeting Law: General Law, Private Acts of 1941 Chapter 441
Purchasing Law: County Purchasing Law of 1983
Private Acts: Hancock County Private Acts
County Mayor Thomas Harrison V (423) 733-4341
hancockmayor@bellsouth.net
Hwy Chief Admin Off Laymon Burke (423) 733-2201
hancockhwy@bellsouth.net
Administrator of Elections Sue Greer (423) 733-4549
Assessor of Property Bill Seal (423) 733-2332
bill.seal@cot.tn.gov
Circuit Court Clerk Micah Wallen (423) 733-2954
micah.wallen@tncourts.gov
Clerk & Master Judith H. Trent (423) 733-4524
judith.trent@tncourts.gov
County Attorney Floyd Rhea (423) 733-2274
rhealaw1@earthlink.net
County Clerk Jessie Royston (423) 733-2519
jessie.royston@tn.gov
Director of Schools Charlotte Mullins (423) 733-2591
charlotte.mullins@hcsk12.com
General Sessions Court Judge Floyd Rhea (423) 733-2274
rhealaw1@earthlink.net
Register of Deeds Janie Lamb (423) 733-4545
janie.lamb@vcourthouse.com
Sheriff Bradley Brewer hancockcoso@yahoo.com
Trustee Leslie Johnson Jr. (423) 733-2939
Number of Commissioners: 17
Number of Commission Districts: 7
County Legislative Meeting Information: 7:00 p.m. - 2nd Monday in January, April, July, & October

County Commissioner Jerry Anderson (423) 300-1589
County Commissioner Tommy Belcher
County Commissioner Chad Burke (423) 300-8398
chad.burke92@gmail.com
County Commissioner Scott Collins
County Commissioner Cruz Cope Cruzcope106@gmail.com
County Commissioner Bobby Johnson (423) 733-8576
bobjohnson156@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Devin Johnson Devinjohnson8131996@gmail.com
County Commissioner Jack Johnson
County Commissioner Robert Johnson (423) 733-2687
q.robbiejohnson@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Kenny Lamb (423) 300-9171
kenzy98@aol.com
County Commissioner Junior Martin (423) 733-8576
County Commissioner John McDaniel (423) 733-9042
john.mcdaniel09@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Brennen Nichols
County Commissioner Clayton Ramsey
County Commissioner Kenneth Rasnic klrasnic175@gmail.com
County Commissioner Matthew Waddell (423) 300-0292
waddell412@gmail.com

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Rick Hall
Environmental Consultant: Kim Raia
Assessor Consultant: Gabe Looney
Criminal Justice Consultant:
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart