Skip to main content

Washington

P.O. Box 219
Jonesborough, TN 37659
(423) 753-1850
http://www.washingtoncountytn.org

Washington County Demographics

Year Originated: 1777
County Structure: Traditional
Development District: First Tennessee Development District
Judicial District: 1
2020 Population: 133,001
2020 Population per Square Mile: 407.98
2010 Population: 122,979
County Road Miles: 800.00
Number of Parcels: 61,101

Incorporated Cities or Towns: Johnson City (63152), Jonesborough (5051), Watauga (458)

Washington County Legal Authority

Fiscal Procedures Law: Fiscal Control Acts of 1957
Budgeting Law: Fiscal Control Acts of 1957
Purchasing Law: Fiscal Control Acts of 1957
Washington County Private Acts
County Mayor Joe Grandy III (423) 753-1666
jgrandy@washingtoncountytn.org
Hwy Chief Admin Off Richard Thompson (423) 753-1714
rthompson@washingtoncountytn.org
Administrator of Elections Dana Jones (423) 753-1688
Assessor of Property Scott Buckingham (423) 753-1670
scott.buckingham@cot.tn.gov
Circuit Court Clerk Brenda Downes (423) 753-1736
bdownes@washingtoncountytn.org
Clerk & Master Sarah Lawson (423) 788-1450
candmjohnsoncity@embarq.com
County Attorney Allyson Wilkinson (423) 753-4864
County Clerk Cheryl Storey (423) 753-1622
Director of Schools William Flanary (423) 753-2131
flanary@wcde.org
Finance/Budget Director Mitch Meredith (423) 753-1717
mmeredith@washingtoncountytn.org
General Sessions Court Judge Don Arnold
General Sessions Court Judge Robert Lincoln (423) 753-1833
judgelinc2001@yahoo.com
General Sessions Court Judge James Nidiffer (423) 461-1416
Juvenile Court Judge Sharon Green (423) 434-6200
Purchasing Agent William Shrewsbury (423) 753-1641
Register of Deeds Teresa Bowman (423) 753-1644
tbowman@washingtoncountytn.org
Sheriff Keith Sexton (423) 788-1414
sheriff@wcso.net
Solid Waste Director Charles Baines (423) 753-1652
charlesbaines@earthlink.net
Trustee Rick Storey (423) 914-5894
rstorey@washingtoncountytn.org
Number of Commissioners: 15
Number of Commission Districts: 15
County Legislative Meeting Information: 9:00 a.m. - 4th Monday in January, April, July, and October; 6:00 p.m. - 4th Monday all other months

County Commissioner Ben Carder Bcarder@washingtoncountytn.org
County Commissioner Bryan Davenport (423) 676-3216
bkdaven@comcast.net
County Commissioner Daniel Edens (423) 483-3522
dedens@washingtoncountytn.org
County Commissioner Larry England lwengland72@gmail.com
County Commissioner Jerome Fitzgerald (423) 440-3501
jeromefitzgerald86@gmail.com
County Commissioner Kenny Huffine
County Commissioner Marty Johnson
County Commissioner Jodi Jones (423) 946-0444
jodiforcounty@gmail.com
County Commissioner Freddie Malone (423) 677-1267
malone4commission@gmail.com
County Commissioner Greg Matherly (423) 791-1905
greg.matherly@wc911.com
County Commissioner David Tomita
County Commissioner Richard Tucker
County Commissioner Lewis Wexler Jr. Lwexler@washingtoncountytn.org
County Commissioner James Wheeler (423) 913-0117
jim@firsttownlaw.com
County Commissioner Suzanne Williams (423) 943-1563
Tuliainjc@yahoo.com

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Rick Hall
Environmental Consultant: Kim Raia
Assessor Consultant: Gabe Looney
Criminal Justice Consultant:
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart