Skip to main content

Greene

204 North Cutler Street,Suite 206
Greeneville, TN 37743
(423) 798-1766
http://www.greenecountytngov.com

COUNTY DETAILS

Year Originated: 1783
County Road Miles: 1,180.00
Number of Parcels: 43,667
Incorporated Cities or Towns: Baileyton (431), Greeneville (15062), Mosheim (2362), Tusculum (2663)

ECONOMY & POPULATION

2019 Gross Domestic Product (GDP): $4.56 B
2020 Population: 70,152
2020 Population per Square Mile: 112.78
2020 Labor Force: 34,360
2020 Unemployment Rate: 6.70%

COUNTY STRUCTURE

County Structure: Traditional
Legislative Body: Board of Commissioners
# of Legislators: 16
Development District: First Tennessee Development District
Judicial District: 3

LEGAL AUTHORITY

Fiscal Procedures Law: Fiscal Control Acts of 1957
Budgeting Law: Fiscal Control Acts of 1957
Purchasing Law: Fiscal Control Acts of 1957
Private Acts: Greene County Private Acts
County Mayor Kevin Morrison (423) 798-1766
MayorKevinMorrison@greenecountytngov.com
Hwy Chief Admin Off Kevin Swatsell (423) 798-1745
gcrd@comcast.net
Administrator of Elections Donna Burgner (423) 798-1715
Assessor of Property Chuck Jeffers (423) 798-1738
chuckjeffers@comcast.net
Circuit Court Clerk Whitney Collins
Clerk & Master Kay Armstrong (423) 798-1742
kay.greeneco@gmail.com
County Attorney Roger Woolsey (423) 798-1779
rwoolsey@greenecountytngov.com
County Clerk Lori Bryant (423) 798-1708
Director of Schools Vicki Kirk (423) 639-4194
berneyt@greenek12.org
Finance/Budget Director Danny Lowery II (423) 798-1703
General Sessions Court Judge Kenneth Bailey Jr. (423) 798-1730
Purchasing Agent Diane Swatzell (423) 798-1700
Register of Deeds Karen Ottinger (423) 798-1726
KOttinger@greenecountytn.gov
Sheriff Wesley Holt (423) 798-1800
wholt@greenetnso.org
Solid Waste Director Jim Greene (423) 798-1794
jimgreene@greenecountytngov.com
Trustee Nathan Holt (423) 798-1705
nholt@greenecountytn.gov
Number of Commissioners: 21
Number of Commission Districts: 7
County Legislative Meeting Information: 6:00 p.m. - 3rd Monday each month

County Commissioner Lisa Anderson Auction257@aol.com
County Commissioner Joshua Arrowood (423) 741-4184
josharrowood@hotmail.com
County Commissioner Jeffrey Bible (423) 552-6016
k4mfd1@embarqmail.com
County Commissioner Lloyd Bowers (423) 620-5903
hootbowers@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Paul Burkey (703) 474-2871
paulburkey@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Pamela Carpenter (423) 638-8101
pamelabcarpenter@gmail.com
County Commissioner Larkin Clemmer
County Commissioner Jason Cobble jason.cobble@greenecountytn.gov
County Commissioner Katherine Crawford (423) 470-3593
crawfordkhh@gmail.com
County Commissioner William Dabbs (423) 552-4998
wbilldabbs@gmail.com
County Commissioner Nick Gunter
County Commissioner Jan Kiker
County Commissioner Teddy Lawing (423) 278-6579
teddylawing@gmail.com
County Commissioner Chase Murray Cmurray@greenecountytn.gov
County Commissioner James Parton (423) 639-7997
parton2014@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Thomas Peters bpeters@greenevilltn.gov
County Commissioner Robin Quillen (423) 639-7353
rquillen@wildblue.net
County Commissioner Gary Shelton (423) 638-8447
gls43@hotmail.com
County Commissioner Tim Smithson
County Commissioner John Waddle Jr. johnwaddle1@msn.com
County Commissioner Charles White (423) 823-1412
whitectim@icloud.com

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Rick Hall
Environmental Consultant: Kim Raia
Assessor Consultant: Gabe Looney
Criminal Justice Consultant:
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart