Skip to main content

Johnson

222 West Main Street
Mountain City, TN 37683
(423) 727-9696
http://johnsoncountytn.org

Johnson County Demographics

Year Originated: 1836
County Structure: Traditional
Development District: First Tennessee Development District
Judicial District: 1
2020 Population: 17,948
2020 Population per Square Mile: 60.03
2010 Population: 18,244
County Road Miles: 380.25
Number of Parcels: 14,397

Incorporated Cities or Towns: Mountain City (2531)

Johnson County Legal Authority

Fiscal Procedures Law: Fiscal Control Acts of 1957
Budgeting Law: Fiscal Control Acts of 1957
Purchasing Law: Fiscal Control Acts of 1957
Johnson County Private Acts
County Mayor Larry Potter (423) 727-9696
mayor@johnsoncountytn.gov
Hwy Chief Admin Off Jeff Wagner (423) 727-7851
jchd01@gmail.com
Administrator of Elections Cheri Lipford (423) 727-8592
Assessor of Property Matthew Lewis (423) 727-7692
matthew.lewis@cot.tn.gov
Circuit Court Clerk Melissa Hollaway (423) 727-9012
ccclerk@johnsoncountytn.gov
Clerk & Master Sherrie Fenner (423) 727-7853
clerkandmaster@johnsoncountytn.gov
County Attorney Ryan Carroll (423) 727-9671
ryan@gwmlawfirm.com
County Clerk Tammie Fenner (423) 727-9633
Tammie.Fenner@tn.gov
Director of Schools Michelle Simcox (423) 727-2640
Finance/Budget Director Russell Robinson (423) 727-7977
rrobinson@jocoed.net
General Sessions Court Judge Perry Stout (423) 727-5216
perry_stout@yahoo.com
Purchasing Agent Dustin Shearin (423) 727-7861
purchasing@johnsoncountytn.gov
Register of Deeds Freida Gwinn (423) 727-7841
freida@titlesearcher.com
Sheriff Edward Tester SHERIFFET@JOHNSONCOUNTYSD.ORG
Solid Waste Director Mike Sumner (423) 727-6921
emaops@johnsoncountytn.gov
Trustee Lisa Crowder (423) 727-9062
jocotrustee@gmail.com
Number of Commissioners: 15
Number of Commission Districts: 7
County Legislative Meeting Information: 7:00 p.m. - 3rd Thursday each month

County Commissioner William Adams (423) 727-7369
adams1491@yahoo.com
County Commissioner David Campbell Jr.
County Commissioner Lester Dunn
County Commissioner Jerry Gentry gf5afarm@gmail.com
County Commissioner Tracy Greer
County Commissioner Robert Grindstaff (423) 291-9909
nevajg1963@gmail.com
County Commissioner Huey Long
County Commissioner James Lowe (423) 727-5081
County Commissioner Megan McEwen Meg4001@hotmail.com
County Commissioner Gina Meade (423) 727-5615
County Commissioner Kody Norris
County Commissioner Cody Osborne
County Commissioner Fred Phipps fphipps@johnsoncountytn.gov
County Commissioner Tommy Poore
County Commissioner Brian Taylor

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Rick Hall
Environmental Consultant: Kim Raia
Assessor Consultant: Gabe Looney
Criminal Justice Consultant:
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart