Skip to main content

Carter

801 East Elk Avenue
Elizabethton, TN 37643
(423) 542-1801
http://www.cartercountytn.gov

Carter County Demographics

Year Originated: 1796
County Structure: Traditional
Development District: First Tennessee Development District
Judicial District: 1
2020 Population: 56,356
2020 Population per Square Mile: 165.27
2010 Population: 57,424
County Road Miles: 700.00
Number of Parcels: 32,986

Incorporated Cities or Towns: Elizabethton (14176), Johnson City (63152), Watauga (458)
County Mayor Patty Woodby (423) 542-1801
patty.woodby@cartercountytn.gov
Hwy Chief Admin Off Roger Colbaugh (423) 543-2331
highway@cartercountytn.gov
Administrator of Elections Tracy Harris (423) 542-1822
elections@cartercountytn.gov
Assessor of Property Ronnie Taylor (423) 542-1806
ronnie.b.taylor@cot.tn.gov
Circuit Court Clerk Johnny Blankenship (423) 542-1825
blankenshipj@cartercountytn.gov
Clerk & Master Andrew LaPorte (423) 542-1812
clerkandmaster@cartercountytn.gov
County Attorney Joshua Hardin (423) 542-0200
jahardinlaw@gmail.com
County Clerk Mary Gouge (423) 542-1814
Mary.Gouge@state.tn.us
Director of Schools Tracy McAbee (423) 547-4000
tracymcabee@carterk12.net
Finance/Budget Director Carolyn Watson (423) 547-4005
watsonc@cartercountytn.gov
General Sessions Court Judge Keith Bowers Jr. (423) 542-0200
kbowersjr@hotmail.com
General Sessions Court Judge John Rambo (423) 542-1858
Register of Deeds Jarrod Ellis (423) 833-1140
jarrodellis54@yahoo.com
Sheriff Mike Fraley (423) 542-1847
fraleym@sheriff.cc
Solid Waste Director Benny Lyons (423) 543-6626
bennyvfd443@yahoo.com
Trustee Chad Lewis (423) 542-1811
lewisc@cartercountytn.gov
Number of Commissioners: 24
Number of Commission Districts: 8
County Legislative Meeting Information: 6:00pm 3rd Monday of the month; 3rd Tuesday when holiday falls on Monday

County Commissioner Robert Acuff (423) 794-6770
robert.acuff@cartercountytn.gov
County Commissioner Nancy Brown (423) 772-4719
nancy.brown@cartercountytn.gov
County Commissioner Steve Burrough
County Commissioner Donnie Cable
County Commissioner Willie Campbell (423) 547-0085
willie.campbell@cartercountytn.gov
County Commissioner Lisa Childress lisagailchildress@gmail.com
County Commissioner Kelly Collins (423) 542-5776
kelly.collins@cartercountytn.gov
County Commissioner Danny Deal dwdvols1@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Pattie Duffield Duffieldp@sheriff.cc
County Commissioner Aaron Frazier (423) 518-1017
aaron.frazier@cartercountytn.gov
County Commissioner Julie Guinn (423) 772-4435
julie.guinn@cartercountytn.gov
County Commissioner Nick Holder
County Commissioner Ginger Holdren (423) 360-7150
ginger.holdren@cartercountytn.gov
County Commissioner Brad Johnson (423) 213-1878
brad.johnson@cartercountytn.gov
County Commissioner Gary Kemp garykemp.123@gmail.com
County Commissioner Daniel McInturff (423) 957-9281
daniel.mcinturff@cartercountytn.gov
County Commissioner Cody McQueen
County Commissioner Angie Odom
County Commissioner Jerry Proffitt (423) 542-2463
jerry.proffitt@cartercountytn.gov
County Commissioner Thomas Proffitt (423) 957-1551
thomas.proffitt@cartercountytn.gov
County Commissioner Jason Rasnick
County Commissioner Todd Smith (423) 440-3049
rt_smith@comcast.net
County Commissioner Layla Ward (423) 213-9101
layla.ward@cartercountytn.gov
County Commissioner Avery Wynn

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Rick Hall
Environmental Consultant: Kim Raia
Assessor Consultant: Gabe Looney
Criminal Justice Consultant:
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart