Skip to main content

Sullivan

3411 Highway 126,Suite 206
Blountville, TN 37617
(423) 323-6417
http://www.sullivancountytn.gov

COUNTY DETAILS

Year Originated: 1779
County Road Miles: 878.00
Number of Parcels: 87,378
Incorporated Cities or Towns: Bluff City (1733), Bristol (26702), Johnson City (63152), Kingsport (51274)

ECONOMY & POPULATION

2019 Gross Domestic Product (GDP): $4.56 B
2020 Population: 158,163
2020 Population per Square Mile: 382.96
2020 Labor Force: 34,360
2020 Unemployment Rate: 6.70%

COUNTY STRUCTURE

County Structure: Traditional
Legislative Body: Board of Commissioners
# of Legislators: 16
Development District: First Tennessee Development District
Judicial District: 2

LEGAL AUTHORITY

Fiscal Procedures Law: Private Acts of 2020 Chapter 46
Budgeting Law: Private Acts of 2020 Chapter 46
Purchasing Law: Private Acts of 2020 Chapter 46
Private Acts: Sullivan County Private Acts
County Mayor Richard Venable (423) 323-6417
rvenable@sullivancountytn.gov
Hwy Chief Admin Off Scotty Murray (423) 279-2833
scottie.murray@sullivancountytn.gov
Administrator of Elections Jason Booher (423) 323-6444
administrator@scecweb.org
Assessor of Property Donna Whitaker (423) 323-6455
donna.whitaker@sullivancountytn.gov
Circuit Court Clerk Bobby Russell (423) 279-2752
bobby.russell@sullivancountytn.gov
Clerk & Master Katherine Priester (423) 323-6483
County Attorney Daniel Street (423) 323-6481
scattorney@scattorney.us
County Clerk Teresa Jacobs (423) 323-6428
teresa.jacobs@sullivancountytn.gov
Director of Schools Evelyn Rafalowski (423) 354-1000
evelyn.rafalowski@sullivank12.net
Finance/Budget Director Larry Bailey (423) 323-6409
lgbailey@sullivancountytn.gov
General Sessions Court Judge Ray Conkin (423) 224-1705
conkin.ray@yahoo.com
General Sessions Court Judge J. Klyne Lauderback (423) 989-4350
General Sessions Court Judge David Tipton
General Sessions Court Judge Mark Toohey (423) 224-1750
General Sessions Court Judge William. Watson (423) 989-4375
Juvenile Court Judge Randy Kennedy (423) 989-5553
Purchasing Agent Kris Davis (423) 323-6400
kris.davis@sullivancountytn.gov
Register of Deeds Sheena Tinsley (423) 323-6420
sheena.tinsley@sullivancountytn.gov
Sheriff Jeff Cassidy jcassidy@scsotn.com
Solid Waste Director Lynn Johnson (423) 323-6439
lynn.johnson@sullivancountytn.gov
Trustee Angela Taylor (423) 323-6462
angela.taylor@sullivancountytn.gov
Number of Commissioners: 24
Number of Commission Districts: 11
County Legislative Meeting Information: 9:00 a.m. - 3rd Monday of each month

County Commissioner David Akard III (423) 797-1704
dwakard3@gmail.com
County Commissioner Darlene Calton (423) 239-5363
darlenecaltonsc@gmail.com
County Commissioner Joe Carr JoeCarr4Change@protonmail.com
County Commissioner Michael Cole (423) 360-0079
michael.cole@sullivancountytn.gov
County Commissioner Larry Crawford (423) 335-0255
topsmanlarry@gmail.com
County Commissioner Andrew Cross (423) 341-3383
akcross88@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Joyce Crosswhite (423) 502-9071
kcrosswhite@btes.tv
County Commissioner John Gardner (423) 361-0092
John.Gardner@sullvancountytn.gov
County Commissioner Herchel Glover (423) 538-5762
pumpcaddy@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Cheryl Harvey csharvey1722@gmail.com
County Commissioner David Hayes
County Commissioner Daniel Horne Daniel.Horne@sullivancountytn.gov
County Commissioner Mark Ireson
County Commissioner Samuel Jones (423) 956-3197
Sam.jones4898@gmail.com
County Commissioner Dwight King (423) 538-5851
pking10105@aol.com
County Commissioner Anthony Leonard (423) 340-0614
tony3838@charter.net
County Commissioner Hunter Locke Hunter.locke@sullivancountytn.gov
County Commissioner Joe McMurray
County Commissioner Jessica Means jessicacmeans@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Archie Pierce (423) 247-5330
archie.pierce@sullivancountytn.gov
County Commissioner Matt Slagle mslagl02@gmail.com
County Commissioner Gary Stidham Sr. (423) 288-7481
gary.stidham@sullivancountytn.gov
County Commissioner Zane Vanover Rzvanover@charter.net
County Commissioner Travis Ward

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Rick Hall
Environmental Consultant: Kim Raia
Assessor Consultant: Gabe Looney
Criminal Justice Consultant:
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart