Skip to main content

Sullivan

3411 Highway 126,Suite 206
Blountville, TN 37617
(423) 323-6417
http://www.sullivancountytn.gov

Sullivan County Demographics

Year Originated: 1779
County Structure: Traditional
Development District: First Tennessee Development District
Judicial District: 2
2020 Population: 158,163
2020 Population per Square Mile: 382.96
2010 Population: 156,823
County Road Miles: 878.00
Number of Parcels: 87,378

Incorporated Cities or Towns: Bluff City (1733), Bristol (26702), Johnson City (63152), Kingsport (51274)

Sullivan County Legal Authority

Fiscal Procedures Law: Private Acts of 2020 Chapter 46
Budgeting Law: Private Acts of 2020 Chapter 46
Purchasing Law: Private Acts of 2020 Chapter 46
Sullivan County Private Acts
County Mayor Richard S Venable (423) 323-6417
rvenable@sullivancountytn.gov
Hwy Chief Admin Off Scotty J Murray (423) 279-2833
scottie.murray@sullivancountytn.gov
Administrator of Elections Jason C. Booher (423) 323-6444
administrator@scecweb.org
Assessor of Property Donna K Whitaker (423) 323-6455
donna.whitaker@sullivancountytn.gov
Circuit Court Clerk Bobby L Russell (423) 279-2752
bobby.russell@sullivancountytn.gov
Clerk & Master Katherine Priester (423) 323-6483
County Attorney Daniel P Street (423) 323-6481
scattorney@scattorney.us
County Clerk Teresa L Jacobs (423) 323-6428
teresa.jacobs@sullivancountytn.gov
Director of Schools Evelyn Rafalowski (423) 354-1000
evelyn.rafalowski@sullivank12.net
Finance/Budget Director Larry Bailey (423) 323-6409
lgbailey@sullivancountytn.gov
General Sessions Court Judge Ray S. Conkin (423) 224-1705
conkin.ray@yahoo.com
General Sessions Court Judge J. Klyne Lauderback (423) 989-4350
General Sessions Court Judge David W. Tipton
General Sessions Court Judge Mark Toohey (423) 224-1750
General Sessions Court Judge William. A. Watson (423) 989-4375
Juvenile Court Judge Randy M. Kennedy (423) 989-5553
Purchasing Agent Kris Davis (423) 323-6400
kris.davis@sullivancountytn.gov
Register of Deeds Sheena Ramsey Tinsley (423) 323-6420
sheena.tinsley@sullivancountytn.gov
Sheriff Jeff Cassidy jcassidy@scsotn.com
Solid Waste Director Lynn Johnson (423) 323-6439
lynn.johnson@sullivancountytn.gov
Trustee Susan Lynne Ramsey (423) 306-8742
susan.ramsey@sullivancountytn.gov
Number of Commissioners: 24
Number of Commission Districts: 11
County Legislative Meeting Information: 9:00 a.m. - 3rd Monday of each month

County Commissioner David W Akard III (423) 797-1704
dwakard3@gmail.com
County Commissioner Judy C Blalock (423) 288-9057
jjblalock@charter.net
County Commissioner Michale Todd Broughton (423) 357-8480
broughtonhomes@gmail.com
County Commissioner Darlene R Calton (423) 239-5363
darlenecaltonsc@gmail.com
County Commissioner Michael B Cole (423) 360-0079
michael.cole@sullivancountytn.gov
County Commissioner Larry W Crawford (423) 335-0255
topsmanlarry@gmail.com
County Commissioner Andrew K Cross (423) 341-3383
akcross88@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Joyce N Crosswhite (423) 502-9071
kcrosswhite@btes.tv
County Commissioner John T Gardner (423) 361-0092
gardnerjt74@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Colette P George (423) 534-3063
colette@brphomes.com
County Commissioner Herchel E Glover (423) 538-5762
pumpcaddy@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Terry L Harkleroad (423) 276-4738
tharkleroad@charter.net
County Commissioner Mark Anthony Hutton (314) 660-6263
mark.hutton@sullivancountytn.gov
County Commissioner Samuel C Jones (423) 956-3197
sam.jones4898@gmail.com
County Commissioner Dwight D King (423) 538-5851
pking10105@aol.com
County Commissioner Anthony D Leonard (423) 340-0614
tony3838@charter.net
County Commissioner Hunter M Locke (423) 612-9337
hunter.locke@sullivancountytn.gov
County Commissioner Randy C. Morrell (423) 878-8333
randy.morrell@sullivancountytn.gov
County Commissioner Archie Pierce (423) 247-5330
archie.pierce@sullivancountytn.gov
County Commissioner Angela G Stanley (423) 742-0010
angie.stanley@sullivancountytn.gov
County Commissioner Alicia D Starnes (423) 239-6018
mets5fan2010@hotmail.com
County Commissioner Gary R Stidham Sr (423) 288-7481
gary.stidham@sullivancountytn.gov
County Commissioner Mark A Vance mavance@woodmen.org
County Commissioner Douglas W Woods (423) 579-2208
doug.woods6226@yahoo.com

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Rick Hall
Environmental Consultant: Kim Raia
Assessor Consultant: Gabe Looney
Criminal Justice Consultant: John Rose
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart