Skip to main content

Rutherford

Public Square Rm. 101
Murfreesboro, TN 37130
(615) 898-7745
http://www.rutherfordcountytn.gov

COUNTY DETAILS

Year Originated: 1803
County Road Miles: 968.00
Number of Parcels: 112,121
Incorporated Cities or Towns: Eagleville (604), LaVergne (32588), Murfreesboro (109031), Smyrna (47521)

ECONOMY & POPULATION

2019 Gross Domestic Product (GDP): $4.56 B
2020 Population: 341,486
2020 Population per Square Mile: 551.67
2020 Labor Force: 34,360
2020 Unemployment Rate: 6.70%

COUNTY STRUCTURE

County Structure: Traditional
Legislative Body: Board of Commissioners
# of Legislators: 16
Development District: Greater Nashville Regional Council
Judicial District: 16
County Mayor Joe Carr (615) 898-7745
countymayor@rutherfordcountytn.gov
Hwy Chief Admin Off Gregory Brooks (615) 898-7856
greg.brooks@rutherfordcountytn.gov
Administrator of Elections Alan Farley (615) 898-7743
afarley@rutherfordcountytn.gov
Assessor of Property Rob Mitchell (615) 898-7750
rmitchell@rutherfordcountytn.gov
Circuit Court Clerk Melissa Harrell (615) 533-6721
melissaharrell@rutherfordcountytn.gov
Clerk & Master John Bratcher (615) 898-7860
jbratcher@rutherfordcountytn.gov
County Attorney Nicholas Christansen (615) 893-5522
nchristiansen@mborolaw.com
County Clerk Lisa Duke Crowell (615) 898-7800
lcrowell@rutherfordcountytn.gov
Director of Schools James Sullivan (615) 893-5812
sullivanja@rcschools.net
Finance/Budget Director Michael Smith (615) 898-7795
msmith@rutherfordcountytn.gov
Register of Deeds Heather Dawbarn (615) 898-7870
hdawbarn@rutherfordcountytn.gov
Sheriff Mike Fitzhugh (615) 898-7770
mfitzhugh@rcsotn.org
Solid Waste Director Bishop Wagener (615) 898-7739
bwagener@rutherfordcounty.tn.gov
Trustee Teb Batey (615) 898-7705
tebbatey@rutherfordcountytn.gov
Number of Commissioners: 21
Number of Commission Districts: 21
County Legislative Meeting Information: 6:00 p.m. on Thursday following the second Monday of the Month

County Commissioner Jonathan Beverly jbeverly92@gmail.com
County Commissioner Carl Boyd carlboyd1959@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Laura Davidson Lrdavidson1811@gmail.com
County Commissioner Phil Dodd (615) 896-7555
district16@rutherfordcountytn.gov
County Commissioner Trey Gooch III (615) 612-9324
district20@rutherfordcountytn.gov
County Commissioner Craig Harris (615) 300-3727
district15@rutherfordcountytn.gov
County Commissioner Wayne Irvin Wayne4tn@gmail.com
County Commissioner Joshua James
County Commissioner Anthony Johnson anthonyjohnson@rutherfordcountytn.gov
County Commissioner Paul Johnson (615) 896-1396
district13@rutherfordcountytn.gov
County Commissioner Mike Kusch (615) 351-9164
district7@rutherfordcountytn.gov
County Commissioner Allen McAdoo (615) 293-3384
district18@rutherfordcountytn.gov
County Commissioner Romel McMurry Lemor2004@gmail.com
County Commissioner Hope Oliver Hope4rucodistrict1@gmail.com
County Commissioner Steve Pearcy (615) 895-4708
district2@rutherfordcountytn.gov
County Commissioner Robert Peay (615) 409-6808
district4@rutherfordcountytn.gov
County Commissioner Jeff Phillips (615) 351-3119
district17@rutherfordcountytn.gov
County Commissioner Pettus Read (931) 212-9037
district8@rutherfordcountytn.gov
County Commissioner Chantho Sourinho (615) 890-1104
district21@rutherfordcountytn.gov
County Commissioner Phil Wilson (615) 456-0472
philwilsongovt@icloud.com
County Commissioner Michael Wrather (615) 785-3825
district3@rutherfordcountytn.gov
Highway Commissioner Michael Anderson (615) 848-3272
vular@att.net
Highway Commissioner Keith Bratcher (615) 867-9028
kbratch55@aol.com
Highway Commissioner Keith Elrod robbin.elrod@gmail.com
Highway Commissioner Paul Johnson (615) 995-4667
colonelj@att.net
Highway Commissioner Mark Lee (615) 430-6723
markplee@comcast.net
Highway Commissioner Michael Shirley (615) 516-1553
michaelshirley4ruthco@gmail.com
Highway Commissioner David "Rabbit" Victory (615) 829-0189
warrenkeeper@comcast.net

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Wesley Robertson
Environmental Consultant: Mike Stooksberry
Assessor Consultant: Joe Griffin
Criminal Justice Consultant:
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart