Skip to main content


229 Church St., Box 1
Tiptonville, TN 38079
(731) 253-7382

Lake County Demographics

Year Originated: 1870
County Structure: Traditional
Development District: Northwest Tennessee Development District
Judicial District: 29
2020 Population: 7,005
2020 Population per Square Mile: 42.98
2010 Population: 7,832
County Road Miles: 186.10
Number of Parcels: 3,921

Incorporated Cities or Towns: Ridgely (1795), Tiptonville (4464)

Lake County Legal Authority

Fiscal Procedures Law: General Law
Budgeting Law: General Law
Purchasing Law: County Purchasing Law of 1983
Lake County Private Acts
County Mayor Denny Johnson (731) 253-7382
Hwy Chief Admin Off Stephen Baker (731) 264-5641
Administrator of Elections Michelle Morgan (731) 253-7521
Assessor of Property Jaxon Neil (731) 442-0911
Circuit Court Clerk Jessica Avery (731) 253-7137
Clerk & Master Mrs. Amber E Mooring (731) 253-8926
County Attorney Hal Boyd (731) 253-7382
County Clerk Crystal Joan Horner (731) 253-7582
Director of Schools Sherry Darnell (731) 253-6601
General Sessions Court Judge Andrew Cook
Register of Deeds Claudia Q Adcock (731) 253-7462
Sheriff Bryan K. Avery (731) 253-7791
Trustee Tammie S Hopper (731) 253-7502
Number of Commissioners: 9
Number of Commission Districts: 3
County Legislative Meeting Information: 6:00 p.m. - 3rd Monday each month

County Commissioner Mallory Michelle Berry (731) 676-2827
County Commissioner John Parker Dean (731) 504-2850
County Commissioner Robert Wayne Hatley
County Commissioner Joyce A McCoy (731) 253-9640
County Commissioner Don W Moore (731) 234-8891
County Commissioner Terry H Pierce
County Commissioner Danny Tippit II
County Commissioner Timothy Ray Windsor
County Commissioner James Wilson Yates
Highway Commissioner Lyman Barker
Highway Commissioner Cliff Berry
Highway Commissioner Doug Gant
Highway Commissioner Jimmy Leake
Highway Commissioner Ronald Snyder

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Mike Galey
Environmental Consultant: Mike Stooksberry
Assessor Consultant: Joe Griffin
Criminal Justice Consultant: John Rose
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart