Skip to main content

Shelby

160 N. Main St.
Memphis, TN 38103
(901) 222-2000
http://www.shelbycountytn.gov

Shelby County Demographics

Year Originated: 1819
County Structure: Charter
Development District: Memphis Area Association of Governments
Judicial District: 30
2020 Population: 929,744
2020 Population per Square Mile: 1,231.45
2010 Population: 927,644
County Road Miles: 750.00
Number of Parcels: 352,362

Incorporated Cities or Towns: Arlington (12090), Bartlett (56488), Collierville (45550), Germantown (40123), Lakeland (12430), Memphis (646889), Millington (11132)

Shelby County Legal Authority

Fiscal Procedures Law: Charter
Budgeting Law: Charter
Purchasing Law: Charter
Shelby County Private Acts
County Mayor Lee Harris (901) 222-2000
officeofthemayor@shelbycountytn.gov
Hwy Chief Admin Off Darren Sanders (901) 222-7705
darren.sanders@shelbycountytn.gov
Administrator of Elections Linda Phillips (901) 222-1200
voteinfo@shelbycountytn.gov
Assessor of Property Melvin Burgess (901) 545-4301
melvin.burgess@shelbycountytn.gov
Circuit Court Clerk Jamita Swearengen (901) 222-3800
Clerk & Master Aaron Hall (901) 222-3900
aaron.hall@shelbycountytn.gov
Correction Center Supervisor Donald Gregory (901) 222-8580
donald.gregory@shelbycountytn.gov
County Attorney Marlinee Iverson (901) 222-2100
marlinee.iverson@shelbycountytn.gov
County Clerk Wanda Halbert (901) 222-3068
wanda.halbert@shelbycountytn.gov
Criminal Court Clerk Heidi Kuhn (901) 222-3200
heidi.kuhn@shelbycountytn.gov
Director of Schools Joris Ray II (901) 416-5444
superintendent@scsk12.org
General Sessions Court Clerk Joe Brown (901) 222-3400
joe.brown@shelbycountytn.gov
Juvenile Court Clerk Janeen Gordon (901) 222-0530
Janeen.gordon@shelbycountytn.gov
Juvenile Court Judge Dan Michael (901) 222-0800
Judge.Michael@shelbycountytn.gov
Probate Court Clerk Eddie Jones (901) 222-3753
Eddie.s.jones@shelbycountytn.gov
Probate Court Judge Kathleen Gomes (901) 222-3827
Probate Court Judge Karen Webster (901) 222-3828
Karen.webster@shelbycountytn.gov
Public Works Director Ciff Norville (901) 222-2083
cliff.norville@shelbycountytn.gov
Register of Deeds Willie Brooks Jr. (901) 222-8100
willie.brooks@shelbycountytn.gov
Sheriff Floyd Bonner Floyd.bonner@shelby-sheriff.org
Trustee Regina Newman rnewman@shelbycountytrustee.com
Number of Commissioners: 13
Number of Commission Districts: 13
County Legislative Meeting Information: 2:30 p.m. - every other Monday starting 2nd Monday in January

County Commissioner Shante Avant (901) 219-7204
shantek14@gmail.com
County Commissioner David Bradford Jr. David.Bradford@shelbycountytn.gov
County Commissioner Henri Brooks
County Commissioner Charlie Caswell Jr. Caswellgroupconsulting@gmail.com
County Commissioner Miska Clay Bibbs miska.claybibbs@shelbycountytn.gov
County Commissioner Edmund Ford Jr. Edmund.Ford@shelbycountytn.gov
County Commissioner Mickell Lowery Mickell.lowery@shelbycountytn.gov
County Commissioner Amber Mills (901) 444-1708
County Commissioner Brandon Morrison (901) 246-8555
Brandongmorrison@me.com
County Commissioner Erika Sugarmon Esugarmon.scc@gmail.com
County Commissioner Britney Thornton District10@britneythornton.com
County Commissioner Michael Whaley Michael.Whaley@shelbycountytn.gov
County Commissioner Mick Wright (901) 222-1000
mick.wright@shelbycountytn.gov

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Mike Galey
Environmental Consultant: Mike Stooksberry
Assessor Consultant: Joe Griffin
Criminal Justice Consultant:
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart