Skip to main content

Van Buren

P.O. Box 217
Spencer, TN 38585
(931) 946-2314
https://vanburencountytn.com

Van Buren County Demographics

Year Originated: 1840
County Structure: Traditional
Development District: Upper Cumberland Development District
Judicial District: 31
2020 Population: 6,168
2020 Population per Square Mile: 22.51
2010 Population: 5,548
County Road Miles: 231.99
Number of Parcels: 7,203

Incorporated Cities or Towns: Spencer (1601)

Van Buren County Legal Authority

Fiscal Procedures Law: General Law
Budgeting Law: General Law
Purchasing Law: County Purchasing Law of 1983
Van Buren County Private Acts
County Mayor Gregory B Wilson (931)946-2314
mayorgwilson@outlook.com
Hwy Chief Admin Off Randy D Oakes (931)946-2161
vbc.hwy.dept@gmail.com
Administrator of Elections Wayne Simons (931) 946-2728
Assessor of Property Darlene Hale (931) 946-2451
darlene.hale@cot.tn.gov
Circuit Court Clerk Brandy J Baker (931) 946-2153
brandy.baker@tncourts.gov
Clerk & Master Tina Shockley (931) 946-7175
tinashockley@gmail.com
County Clerk Lisa D Rigsby (931) 946-2121
lisa.rigsby@tn.gov
Director of Schools Cheryl Cole (931) 946-2242
Register of Deeds April M Shockley (931) 946-7363
Sheriff Eddie D Carter (931) 946-2118
ecarter3276@yahoo.com
Solid Waste Director Wil Simons (931) 946-2381
Trustee Tammie M Clendenon (931) 946-2263
vanburentrustee@live.com
Number of Commissioners: 10
Number of Commission Districts: 5
County Legislative Meeting Information: 6:00 p.m. - 1st Monday of each month

County Commissioner David M Chandler Dmchandler161@aol.com
County Commissioner Zackary J Fletcher
County Commissioner Joey H Grissom (931) 946-7267
bgrissom@blomand.net
County Commissioner William R Maxwell Jr
County Commissioner Dalton H Mosley (931)686-2913
billmosleydh@blomand.net
County Commissioner Mickey S Robinson
County Commissioner Sam Henry Seamons (931) 607-4721
seamons_h@hotmail.com
County Commissioner Brian K Simmons
County Commissioner Robert W Van Winkle
County Commissioner Michael T Woodlee

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Ben Rodgers
Environmental Consultant: Kim Raia
Assessor Consultant: Gabe Looney
Criminal Justice Consultant: John Rose
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart