Skip to main content

Van Buren

P.O. Box 217
Spencer, TN 38585
(931) 946-2314


Year Originated: 1840
County Road Miles: 231.99
Number of Parcels: 7,203
Incorporated Cities or Towns: Spencer (1601)


2020 Population: 6,168
2020 Population per Square Mile: 22.51
2010 Population: 5,548


County Structure: Traditional
Development District: Upper Cumberland Development District
Judicial District: 31


Fiscal Procedures Law: General Law
Budgeting Law: General Law
Purchasing Law: County Purchasing Law of 1983
Private Acts: Van Buren County Private Acts
County Mayor David Sullivan (931) 946-2314
Hwy Chief Admin Off Randy Oakes (931) 946-2161
Administrator of Elections Wayne Simons (931) 946-2728
Assessor of Property Darlene Hale (931) 946-2451
Circuit Court Clerk Lavetta Simmons (931) 946-2153
Clerk & Master Tina Shockley (931) 946-7175
County Attorney Howard Upchurch (931) 946-2314
County Clerk Lisa Rigsby (931) 946-2121
Director of Schools Cheryl Cole (931) 946-2242
Register of Deeds April Shockley (931) 946-7363
Sheriff Michael Brock (931) 946-2118
Solid Waste Director Heather Woodlee (931) 946-2314
Trustee Beth Simmons (931) 946-2263
Number of Commissioners: 10
Number of Commission Districts: 5
County Legislative Meeting Information: 6:00 p.m. - 1st Monday of each month

County Commissioner Michael Chandler
County Commissioner Cale Crain
County Commissioner Jordan Delong
County Commissioner Tabitha Denney
County Commissioner Terry Hickey
County Commissioner Terry Hodges
County Commissioner Dusty Madewell
County Commissioner Kenny Smith Kenny/
County Commissioner Brick Wall
County Commissioner Michael Woodlee

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Heather Duncan
Environmental Consultant: Kim Raia
Assessor Consultant: Gabe Looney
Criminal Justice Consultant: Derrick Woods
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart
Fire Consultant: Marc Alley