Skip to main content

Chester

P.O. Box 296
Henderson, TN 38340
(731) 989-5672
https://chestercountytn.org

COUNTY DETAILS

Year Originated: 1879
County Road Miles: 407.00
Number of Parcels: 9,996
Incorporated Cities or Towns: Enville (189), Henderson (6309), Milledgeville (265), Silerton (111)

ECONOMY & POPULATION

2019 Gross Domestic Product (GDP): $4.56 B
2020 Population: 17,341
2020 Population per Square Mile: 60.00
2020 Labor Force: 34,360
2020 Unemployment Rate: 6.70%

COUNTY STRUCTURE

County Structure: Traditional
Legislative Body: Board of Commissioners
# of Legislators: 16
Development District: Southwest Tennessee Development District
Judicial District: 26

LEGAL AUTHORITY

Fiscal Procedures Law: General Law , Private Acts of 2009 Chapter 11
Budgeting Law: General Law
Purchasing Law: County Purchasing Law of 1983
Private Acts: Chester County Private Acts
County Mayor Barry Hutcherson (731) 989-5672
bhutcherson@chestercountytn.org
Hwy Chief Admin Off Todd Brown (731) 989-7311
Administrator of Elections Kathy Vest (731) 989-4039
aoe@chesterelection.com
Assessor of Property Beverly Morton (731) 989-4882
bmorton@chestercountytn.org
Circuit Court Clerk Justin Emerson (731) 989-2454
justin.emerson@tncourts.gov
Clerk & Master Keith Frye (731) 989-7171
keith.e.frye@tncourts.gov
County Attorney Marty Phillips (731) 426-8128
mphillips@raineykizer.com
County Clerk William Smith (731) 989-2233
stacy.smith@tn.gov
Director of Schools Troy Kilzer II (731) 989-5134
Finance/Budget Director Gary Irwin (731) 989-6811
girwin@chestercountytn.org
General Sessions Court Judge Larry McKenzie (731) 989-2608
Register of Deeds Doris Ethridge (731) 989-4991
doris.ethridge@vcourthouse.net
Sheriff Blair Weaver (731) 989-2449
CCS102@HOTMAIL.COM
Solid Waste Director Amber Greene (731) 989-9855
agreene@chestercountytn.org
Trustee Lance Beshires (731) 989-3993
chestertrustee@usit.net
Number of Commissioners: 18
Number of Commission Districts: 6
County Legislative Meeting Information: 7:00 p.m. - 2nd Monday in January, March, May, 2nd Thursday in July, 2nd Monday in September and November.

County Commissioner James Alexander (731) 608-2248
County Commissioner Dwight Bingham
County Commissioner Timothy Crowe (731) 989-9458
County Commissioner Chris Dunbar
County Commissioner Bubba Edgin
County Commissioner Jerry Emerson (731) 989-2304
County Commissioner Kevin Faulkner (731) 989-0400
hendersoncarcare@bellsouth.net
County Commissioner Johnny Garner (731) 989-2233
johnny.garner@tn.gov
County Commissioner Ricky Hardy
County Commissioner Carolyn Higgins (256) 989-3993
cookiezuma@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Andrea Holland (731) 989-3993
aholland@chestercountytn.org
County Commissioner Jerry King
County Commissioner Todd Lewis coachlewis81@gmail.com
County Commissioner Jerry Lowe (731) 989-7336
lowejerry@att.net
County Commissioner Brenda Matthews
County Commissioner Albert McKinnon (731) 608-5982
mcki6006@bellsouth.net
County Commissioner Renee Phelps
County Commissioner Barry Smith (731) 431-3520
bvsmith@fhu.edu

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Kelsey Schweitzer
Environmental Consultant: Mike Stooksberry
Assessor Consultant: Joe Griffin
Criminal Justice Consultant:
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart