Skip to main content


P.O. Box 236
Union City, TN 38261
(731) 507-0999

Obion County Legislative Body

Number of Commissioners: 21
Number of Commission Districts: 7
County Legislative Meeting Information: 9:00 a.m. - 2nd Monday in January, March, May, June, July, August, September, October, and November

Obion County Demographics

Year Originated: 1823
County Structure: Traditional
Development District: Northwest Tennessee Development District
Judicial District: 27
2020 Population: 30,787
2020 Population per Square Mile: 56.49
2010 Population: 31,807
County Road Miles: 739.22
Number of Parcels: 20,179

Incorporated Cities or Towns: Hornbeak (533), Kenton (1281), Obion (1119), Rives (326), Samburg (217), South Fulton (2354), Trimble (637), Troy (1371), Union City (10895), Woodland Mills (378)

Obion County Legal Authority

Fiscal Procedures Law: General Law
Budgeting Law: General Law
Purchasing Law: County Purchasing Law of 1983
County Mayor Benny J McGuire (731)885-9611
Hwy Chief Admin Off Gary Lofton (731)885-5960
Administrator of Elections Leigh Schlager (731) 885-1901
Assessor of Property Judy Smith (731) 885-2931
Circuit Court Clerk Raymond H Johnson (731) 885-1372
Clerk & Master Paula Rice (731) 885-2562
County Clerk Crystal Crain (731) 885-3831
General Sessions Court Judge Jimmy C. Smith (731) 885-1811
Juvenile Court Judge Sam C. Nailling Jr. (731) 885-4550
Register of Deeds Cheryl D Reddin (731) 446-6859
Sheriff Karl Jackson
Solid Waste Director Travis Alexander (731) 885-8109
Trustee Tracey Ivey Westbrooks (731) 885-0951
County Commissioner James P Albright 731-538-3345
County Commissioner Kenneth N Barnes Mr
County Commissioner James L Beasley
County Commissioner James B Bondurant (731) 446-0374
County Commissioner Ricky Boyd (731)676-5820
County Commissioner Donnie Braswell (731) 479-0212
County Commissioner Kenneth Blake Cheatham (731) 885-0851
County Commissioner Ryan A Ellegood (731)885-7007
County Commissioner Dale Frazier (731) 479-2832
County Commissioner Walter S Goodrich (731) 885-7100
County Commissioner James D Gray (270) 243-1120
County Commissioner Harold D Hensley (731) 885-5225
County Commissioner Robert Thompson Holman (731)446-5566
County Commissioner Edward E Hudgins (731)592-8716
County Commissioner Jerry M Lamastus (731)588-9388
County Commissioner Henry A Nohsey (731)885-5862
County Commissioner Ralph H Puckett (731)479-2576
County Commissioner Terry E Roberts (731)446-7718
County Commissioner Larry Sherwood (731) 446-8031
County Commissioner Sam L Sinclair
County Commissioner Donald R Walton (731)446-5115
Highway Commissioner Neil Dodson
Highway Commissioner Larry Gray
Highway Commissioner Lee J. Hobbs
Highway Commissioner Jerry McCullough
Highway Commissioner Bob Nichols
Highway Commissioner James Thorpe

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Mike Galey
Environmental Consultant: Mike Stooksberry
Assessor Consultant: Joe Griffin
Criminal Justice Consultant: John Rose
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart