Skip to main content

Cocke

111 Court Avenue
Newport, TN 37821
(423) 623-8791
http://www.cockecounty.net

Cocke County Demographics

Year Originated: 1797
County Structure: Traditional
Development District: East Tennessee Development District
Judicial District: 4
2020 Population: 35,999
2020 Population per Square Mile: 82.95
2010 Population: 35,662
County Road Miles: 702.56
Number of Parcels: 25,931

Incorporated Cities or Towns: Newport (6945), Parrottsville (263)

Cocke County Legal Authority

Fiscal Procedures Law: Fiscal Control Acts of 1957
Budgeting Law: Fiscal Control Acts of 1957
Purchasing Law: Fiscal Control Acts of 1957
Cocke County Private Acts
County Mayor Crystal R Ottinger (423) 623-8791
cottinger@cockecounty.net
Hwy Chief Admin Off Bullet McCallister (423) 623-5102
cockecountyhwy@gmail.com
Administrator of Elections Josh Blanchard (423) 623-2042
vote@cockecountytn.gov
Assessor of Property Angie Shelton (423) 623-7024
angie.shelton@cot.tn.gov
Circuit Court Clerk Kristy L Nease (423) 623-6124
circuitcourt@cockecountytn.gov
Clerk & Master Craig Wild (423) 623-3321
craig.wild@tncourts.gov
County Attorney Melissa Gossman (614) 949-0180
mjgossman90@gmail.com
County Clerk Shalee Benson (423) 623-6176
Director of Schools Manney Moore (423) 623-7821
Finance/Budget Director Heather McGaha (423) 623-8791
hmcgaha@cockecountytn.gov
General Sessions Court Clerk Frankie Cody (423) 623-8619
Peachie.Cody@tncourts.gov
Purchasing Agent Lorene Buckner (423) 623-1322
Register of Deeds Mark Hugh McGaha
Sheriff Armando Fontes (423) 623-6004
sheriff@cockecountysd.com
Trustee Robert A Mathis (423) 623-3037
rmathis@cockecounty.net
Number of Commissioners: 14
Number of Commission Districts: 7
County Legislative Meeting Information: 6:00 p.m. - 3rd Monday each month

County Commissioner Calvin David Ball (423) 623-0940
County Commissioner Dinah G Blazer (423) 237-2119
blazergaylaccclb@gmail.com
County Commissioner Henry Clay Blazer (423) 623-6971
clayblazer@hotmail.com
County Commissioner Danny Bright (423) 487-2616
southernbull4@gmail.com
County Commissioner Gary R Carver
County Commissioner Forest E Clevenger (423) 623-0009
forestec68@gmail.com
County Commissioner Terry D Dawson
County Commissioner Jeff Eslinger (423) 608-3516
jweslinger@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Windell Barry Ford (423) 608-3432
barryford17@hotmail.com
County Commissioner Casey L Gilliam (423) 465-2317
bigorangefan77@gmail.com
County Commissioner Jonathon C Laws
County Commissioner Kyle B Shute
County Commissioner Norman D Smith
County Commissioner Charles David Veridal IV (423) 721-1413
davidveridal@gmail.com
Highway Commissioner Ronald Wayne Blazer
Highway Commissioner Randy S Dyke
Highway Commissioner Robert Grooms Jr
Highway Commissioner Kenneth D Hall
Highway Commissioner Jerry Holt Jr
Highway Commissioner Jackie L Smith
Highway Commissioner Chuck Smithpeters

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Kaley Walker
Environmental Consultant: Kim Raia
Assessor Consultant: Gabe Looney
Criminal Justice Consultant: John Rose
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart