Skip to main content

Knox

City/County Building Room 615, 400 Main Avenue
Knoxville, TN 37902
(865) 215-2005
http://www.knoxcounty.org

Knox County Demographics

Year Originated: 1792
County Structure: Charter
Development District: East Tennessee Development District
Judicial District: 6
2020 Population: 478,971
2020 Population per Square Mile: 941.00
2010 Population: 432,226
County Road Miles: 1,976.00
Number of Parcels: 199,790

Incorporated Cities or Towns: Farragut (22676), Knoxville (178874)

Knox County Legal Authority

Fiscal Procedures Law: Charter
Budgeting Law: Charter
Purchasing Law: Charter
Knox County Private Acts
County Mayor Glenn Jacobs (865)215-2005
county.mayor@knoxcounty.org
Hwy Chief Admin Off Jim Snowden (865) 215-5808
jim.snowden@knoxcounty.org
Administrator of Elections Clifford Rogers (865) 215-2480
Assessor of Property John Whitehead (865) 215-2360
john.whitehead@knoxcounty.org
Circuit Court Clerk Charlie Susano (865) 776-3949
charlessusano@comcast.net
Clerk & Master Howard G. Hogan (865) 215-2555
howard.hogan@knoxcounty.org
County Clerk Sherry Witt (865) 215-2385
sherry.witt@knoxcounty.org
Criminal Court Clerk Mike Hammond (865) 215-3455
mike.hammond@knoxcounty.org
Director of Schools Bob Thomas (865) 594-1620
superintendent@knoxschools.org
General Sessions Court Judge Charles Cerny Jr. (865) 215-2370
General Sessions Court Judge Geoffrey P. Emery (865) 215-2370
General Sessions Court Judge Andrew Jackson (865) 215-2371
General Sessions Court Judge Patricia Long (865) 215-2370
General Sessions Court Judge Tony W. Stansberry (865) 215-4226
Juvenile Court Judge Timothy E. Irwin (865) 215-6475
Law Director Richard Armstrong (865) 215-2327
richard.armstrong@knoxcounty.org
Procurement Director Matt Myers (865) 215-5777
matt.myers@knoxcounty.org
Register of Deeds Nick McBride (865) 215-2330
nick.mcbride@knoxcounty.org
Sheriff Tom Spangler tom.spangler@knoxsheriff.org
Solid Waste Director Drew Thurman (865) 215-5865
drew.thurman@knoxcounty.org
Trustee Ed Shouse (865) 215-2534
Number of Commissioners: 11
County Legislative Meeting Information: 5:00 p.m. - 4th Monday each month

County Commissioner Richie Beeler (865) 661-6351
richie.beeler@knoxcounty.org
County Commissioner Justin Biggs (865)705-1727
justin.biggs@knoxcounty.org
County Commissioner Charles Busler (865)256-2604
charles.busler@knoxcounty.org
County Commissioner Carson Dailey (865)660-0019
carson.dailey@knoxcounty.org
County Commissioner Courtney Durrett (865) 203-6433
courtney.durrett@knoxcounty.org
County Commissioner Terry Hill (865) 205-5768
Terry.hill@knoxcounty.org
County Commissioner Mr. Larsen Jay (865)384-2656
larsen.jay@knoxcounty.org
County Commissioner Dasha Lundy (865) 315-0237
Dasha.lundy@knoxcounty.org
County Commissioner John Schoonmaker (865)607-6625
john.schoonmaker@knoxcounty.org
County Commissioner Randy Smith (865)705-3649
randy.smith@knoxcounty.org
County Commissioner Kyle Ward (865) 315-0685
Kyle.ward@knoxcounty.org

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Kaley Walker
Environmental Consultant: Kim Raia
Assessor Consultant: Gabe Looney
Criminal Justice Consultant: John Rose
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart