Skip to main content

Tipton

P.O. Box 686
Covington, TN 38019
(901) 476-0200
http://www.tiptonco.com

Tipton County Demographics

Year Originated: 1823
County Structure: Traditional
Development District: Memphis Area Association of Governments
Judicial District: 25
2020 Population: 60,970
2020 Population per Square Mile: 132.83
2010 Population: 61,081
County Road Miles: 620.00
Number of Parcels: 30,988

Incorporated Cities or Towns: Atoka (9474), Brighton (2735), Burlison (425), Covington (9038), Garland (310), Gilt Edge (477), Mason (1609), Munford (6110)

Tipton County Legal Authority

Fiscal Procedures Law: General Law
Budgeting Law: General Law
Purchasing Law: County Purchasing Law of 1983
Tipton County Private Acts
County Executive William Jeffrey Huffman (901)476-0200
tcounty1@bellsouth.net
Hwy Chief Admin Off Shannon Reed (901)837-5900
shannon@tcpw.net
Administrator of Elections Cindy Pinner (901) 476-0223
election@tiptonco.com
Assessor of Property Rose Cousar (901) 476-0213
rcousar@tiptonco.com
Circuit Court Clerk Mike Forbess (901) 475-3310
mike.forbess@tncourts.gov
Clerk & Master Virginia Gray (901) 476-0210
Virginia.Gray@tncourts.gov
County Clerk Mary A Gaither (901) 476-0207
mgaither@tiptonco.com
Director of Schools John Combs (901) 476-7148
General Sessions Court Judge William A. Peeler (901) 476-0251
Register of Deeds Claudia M Peeler (901) 476-0204
tcrod84@gmail.com
Sheriff Shannon Beasley (901) 475-3300
sheriff@tiptonco.com
Trustee Kristie Glass Maxwell (901) 476-0211
rttrustee@bellsouth.net
Number of Commissioners: 18
Number of Commission Districts: 9
County Legislative Meeting Information: 7:00 p.m. - 2nd Monday of each month

County Commissioner Walker A Adams (901)355-2454
walkeradams@live.com
County Commissioner James C Adkins (901) 835-3901
jimbo.adkins@rittercommunications.com
County Commissioner Christopher Armstrong (901)837-9867
carmstrong1970@me.com
County Commissioner Shelia G Barlow grambarlow@gmail.com
County Commissioner David S Copeland (901)603-6168
dcop214@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Thomas A Dunavant (901)490-1833
tdunavant@tiptonco.com
County Commissioner Courtney Fee cfee@tipton-county.com
County Commissioner Richard Kelley (901)476-6533
rkelley007@bellsouth.net
County Commissioner Jeffery D Mason jmason5422@gmail.com
County Commissioner Jonathan G Murphy (901)299-9711
electjonathan2016@gmail.com
County Commissioner Michael W Naifeh (901)476-2578
mnaifeh@covingtontn.com
County Commissioner Stephen D. Shopher (731)514-3371
shopher.district4@gmail.com
County Commissioner Bobbie M Smith (901)570-0141
bmwarren1@msn.com
County Commissioner James Lamont Sneed jlsneed@gmail.com
County Commissioner Alan Glenn Turner gturner@tipton-county.com
County Commissioner Harold Poochie Twisdale (901)294-3850
nhuelsing@tiptonco.com
County Commissioner Robert W Wilson (901) 335-6394
rwwilson979@gmail.com
County Commissioner Rusty Wooten rwwooten@prodigy.net

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Mike Galey
Environmental Consultant: Mike Stooksberry
Assessor Consultant: Joe Griffin
Criminal Justice Consultant: John Rose
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart