Skip to main content

Tipton

P.O. Box 686
Covington, TN 38019
(901) 476-0200
http://www.tiptonco.com

Tipton County Demographics

Year Originated: 1823
County Structure: Traditional
Development District: Memphis Area Association of Governments
Judicial District: 25
2020 Population: 60,970
2020 Population per Square Mile: 132.83
2010 Population: 61,081
County Road Miles: 620.00
Number of Parcels: 30,988

Incorporated Cities or Towns: Atoka (9474), Brighton (2735), Burlison (425), Covington (9038), Garland (310), Gilt Edge (477), Mason (1609), Munford (6110)

Tipton County Legal Authority

Fiscal Procedures Law: General Law
Budgeting Law: Private Acts of 2017 Chapter 24
Purchasing Law: Private Acts of 1941 Chapter 518
Tipton County Private Acts
County Executive William Huffman (901) 476-0200
tcounty1@bellsouth.net
Hwy Chief Admin Off Shannon Reed (901) 837-5900
shannon@tcpw.net
Administrator of Elections Cindy Pinner (901) 476-0223
election@tiptonco.com
Assessor of Property Rose Cousar (901) 476-0213
rcousar@tiptonco.com
Circuit Court Clerk Mike Forbess (901) 475-3310
mike.forbess@tncourts.gov
Clerk & Master Virginia Gray (901) 476-0210
Virginia.Gray@tncourts.gov
County Attorney David Owen (901) 476-6066
owenlawfirm@bellsouth.net
County Clerk Mary Gaither (901) 476-0207
mgaither@tiptonco.com
Director of Schools John Combs (901) 476-7148
Finance/Budget Director W.T. Bailey (901) 476-0219
wtbailey@tiptonco.com
General Sessions Court Judge William Peeler (901) 476-0251
Register of Deeds Claudia Peeler (901) 476-0204
tcrod84@gmail.com
Sheriff Shannon Beasley (901) 475-3300
sbeasley@tiptonco.com
Trustee Kristie Maxwell (901) 476-0211
rttrustee@bellsouth.net
Number of Commissioners: 18
Number of Commission Districts: 9
County Legislative Meeting Information: 7:00 p.m. - 2nd Monday of each month

County Commissioner Walker Adams (901) 355-2454
walkeradams@live.com
County Commissioner James Adkins (901) 835-3901
jimbo.adkins@rittercommunications.com
County Commissioner Shelia Barlow grambarlow@gmail.com
County Commissioner Brad Case Jobes72904@gmail.com
County Commissioner David Copeland (901) 603-6168
dcop214@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Courtney Fee cfee@tipton-county.com
County Commissioner Justin Gangaware (901) 233-5574
jgangaware@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Brett Giannini Brettgiannini48@gmail.com
County Commissioner Richard Kelley (901) 476-6533
rkelley007@bellsouth.net
County Commissioner John Mashburn (901) 674-5193
jmashburn@scalemanoftn.com
County Commissioner Jonathan Murphy (901) 299-9711
electjonathan2016@gmail.com
County Commissioner Michael Naifeh (901) 476-2578
mnaifeh@covingtontn.com
County Commissioner Randy Roe uspo1957@gmail.com
County Commissioner Bobbie Smith (901) 570-0141
Bmichellesmith0426@icloud.com
County Commissioner James Sneed jlsneed@gmail.com
County Commissioner Alan Turner gturner@tipton-county.com
County Commissioner Cecil Watson cwtntf1@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Rusty Wooten rwwooten@prodigy.net

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Mike Galey
Environmental Consultant: Mike Stooksberry
Assessor Consultant: Joe Griffin
Criminal Justice Consultant:
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart