Skip to main content

Hamilton

201 Seventh Street,Room 208
Chattanooga, TN 37402
(423) 209-6100
http://www.hamiltontn.gov

Hamilton County Demographics

Year Originated: 1819
County Structure: Traditional
Development District: Southeast Tennessee Development District
Judicial District: 11
2020 Population: 366,207
2020 Population per Square Mile: 674.41
2010 Population: 336,463
County Road Miles: 850.00
Number of Parcels: 157,428

Incorporated Cities or Towns: Chattanooga (167674), Collegedale (8282), East Ridge (20979), Lakesite (1826), Lookout Mountain (1832), Red Bank (11651), Ridgeside (390), Signal Mountain (8363), Soddy-Daisy (12714), Walden (1898)

Hamilton County Legal Authority

Budgeting Law: General Law
Purchasing Law: County Purchasing Law of 1983, Private Acts of 1983 Chapter 90
Hamilton County Private Acts
County Mayor Jim Coppinger (423)209-6100
countymayor@hamiltontn.gov
Hwy Chief Admin Off Ben Wilson (423)855-6100
benw@hamiltontn.gov
Administrator of Elections Kerry Steelman (423) 493-5100
Assessor of Property Marty Haynes (423) 209-7300
martyh@hamiltontn.gov
Circuit Court Clerk Larry L. Henry (423) 209-6700
lhenry@hamiltontn.gov
Clerk & Master Robin L. Miller (423) 209-6600
rmiller@hamiltontn.gov
County Clerk Bill Knowles (423) 209-6520
billk@hamiltontn.gov
Criminal Court Clerk Vince Dean (423) 209-7500
vinced@hamiltontn.gov
Director of Schools Rick Smith (423) 209-8603
General Sessions Court Judge David E. Bales (423) 209-7660
davidb@hamiltontn.gov
General Sessions Court Judge Christie M. Sell (423) 209-7660
General Sessions Court Judge Clarence E. Shattuck Jr. (423) 209-7660
General Sessions Court Judge Gary Starnes (423) 209-7660
General Sessions Court Judge Lila Statom (423) 209-7660
Juvenile Court Clerk Gary D. Behler (423) 209-5271
gbehler@hamiltontn.gov
Juvenile Court Judge Robert Philyaw (423) 209-5106
Register of Deeds Marc Gravitt (423) 209-6560
mgravitt@hamiltontn.gov
Sheriff Jim Hammond (423) 209-7000
jhammond@hcsheriff.gov
Trustee Bill Hullander (423) 209-7270
bhullander@hamiltontn.gov
Number of Commissioners: 9
Number of Commission Districts: 9
County Legislative Meeting Information: 9:30 a.m. - 1st and 3rd Wednesday Monthly

County Commissioner Chip Baker (423) 593-2211
chip@riverbendfestival.com, chipbaker58@gmail.com
County Commissioner Chester Bankston (423)667-7280
chesterbankston@comcast.net
County Commissioner Tim Boyd (423)987-8072
District8@hamiltontn.gov
County Commissioner Mr. Randy Fairbanks (423)843-5026
rfairbanks@fairbankscpa.com
County Commissioner Katherlyn Geter (423)760-5418
District5@hamiltontn.gov
County Commissioner Dr. Steve Highlander (423) 838-2065
dshighlander@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Warren Mackey district4@hamiltontn.gov
County Commissioner Greg Martin (423)596-7338
countycommissionergregmartin@gmail.com
County Commissioner David Sharpe (423)240-9949
davidsharpe620@gmail.com
County Commissioner Sabrena Smedley (423) 432-4115
District7@hamiltontn.gov, sabrena@sabrenarealty.com

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Heather Duncan
Environmental Consultant: Kim Raia
Assessor Consultant: Gabe Looney
Criminal Justice Consultant: John Rose
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart