Skip to main content

Hamilton

201 Seventh Street,Room 208
Chattanooga, TN 37402
(423) 209-6100
http://www.hamiltontn.gov

Hamilton County Demographics

Year Originated: 1819
County Structure: Traditional
Development District: Southeast Tennessee Development District
Judicial District: 11
2020 Population: 366,207
2020 Population per Square Mile: 674.41
2010 Population: 336,463
County Road Miles: 850.00
Number of Parcels: 157,428

Incorporated Cities or Towns: Chattanooga (167674), Collegedale (8282), East Ridge (20979), Lakesite (1826), Lookout Mountain (1832), Red Bank (11651), Ridgeside (390), Signal Mountain (8363), Soddy-Daisy (12714), Walden (1898)

Hamilton County Legal Authority

Budgeting Law: General Law
Purchasing Law: County Purchasing Law of 1983, Private Acts of 1983 Chapter 90
Hamilton County Private Acts
County Mayor Weston Wamp (423) 209-6100
countymayor@hamiltontn.gov
Interim Hwy Chief Admin Off Gene Quinn (423) 855-6100
Administrator of Elections Kerry Steelman (423) 493-5100
Assessor of Property Marty Haynes (423) 209-7300
martyh@hamiltontn.gov
Circuit Court Clerk Larry Henry (423) 209-6700
lhenry@hamiltontn.gov
Clerk & Master Robin Miller (423) 209-6600
rmiller@hamiltontn.gov
County Attorney Rheubin Taylor (423) 209-6150
rmtaylor@hamiltontn.gov
County Clerk Bill Knowles (423) 209-6520
billk@hamiltontn.gov
Criminal Court Clerk Vince Dean (423) 209-7500
vinced@hamiltontn.gov
Director of Schools Rick Smith (423) 209-8603
Finance/Budget Director Lee Brouner (423) 209-6330
leeb@hamiltontn.gov
General Sessions Court Judge David Bales (423) 209-7660
davidb@hamiltontn.gov
General Sessions Court Judge Christie Sell (423) 209-7660
General Sessions Court Judge Clarence Shattuck Jr. (423) 209-7660
General Sessions Court Judge Gary Starnes (423) 209-7660
General Sessions Court Judge Lila Statom (423) 209-7660
Juvenile Court Clerk Gary Behler (423) 209-5271
gbehler@hamiltontn.gov
Juvenile Court Judge Robert Philyaw (423) 209-5106
Register of Deeds Marc Gravitt (423) 209-6560
mgravitt@hamiltontn.gov
Sheriff Austin Garrett (423) 209-7000
agarrett@hcsheriff.gov
Trustee Bill Hullander (423) 209-7270
bhullander@hamiltontn.gov
Number of Commissioners: 11
Number of Commission Districts: 11
County Legislative Meeting Information: 9:30 a.m. - 1st and 3rd Wednesday Monthly

County Commissioner Chip Baker (423) 593-2211
chipbaker58@gmail.com
County Commissioner Greg Beck
County Commissioner Mike Chauncey
County Commissioner Jeffrey Eversole j.eversole@gmx.com
County Commissioner Joe Graham
County Commissioner Lee Helton leehelton231980@gmail.com
County Commissioner Steve Highlander (423) 838-2065
dshighlander@yahoo.com
County Commissioner Warren Mackey district4@hamiltontn.gov
County Commissioner Greg Martin
County Commissioner David Sharpe (423) 240-9949
davidsharpe620@gmail.com
County Commissioner Gene-O Shipley

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Heather Duncan
Environmental Consultant: Kim Raia
Assessor Consultant: Gabe Looney
Criminal Justice Consultant:
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart