Skip to main content

Select Counties Eligible for Additional Funds (Local Assistance and Tribal Consistency Fund LATCF)

News Date

What is it? The US Treasury has appropriated 750 million dollars for eligible revenue sharing counties and eligible Tribal governments. This program is called the Local Assistance and Tribal Consistency Fund (LATCF).

What counties qualified for LATCF?

Blount County $155,404.36

Carter County $341,750.03

Cheatham County $50,000

Claiborne County $50,000

Clay County $109,216.61

Cocke County $295,065.09

Decatur County $50,000

DeKalb County $112,823.99

Dickson County $50,000

Dyer County $50,000

Fentress County $101,339.20

Franklin County $50,000

Greene County $134,341.98

Hamilton County $50,000

Hardeman County $50,000

Hardin County $50,000

Haywood County $50,000

Henry County $50,000

Hickman County $50,000

Humphreys County $50,000

Jackson County $72,711.16

Johnson County $217,338.13

Lake County $50,000

Lauderdale County $114,504.30

Lawrence County $50,000

Lewis County $50,000

Maury County $50,000

McMinn County $50,000

Monroe County $484,829.50

Montgomery County $50,000

Morgan County $50,000

Obion County $50,000

Overton County $50,000

Pickett County $72,487.34

Polk County $479,979.16

Putnam County $50,000

Rutherford County $50,000

Scott County $218,017.56

Sevier County $297,701.29

Shelby County $50,000

Smith County $50,000

Stewart County $295,629.39

Sullivan County $90,346.80

Sumner County $50,000

Tipton County $50,000

Unicoi County $194,985.73

Warren County $50,000

Washington County $50,000

Wayne County $50,000

Weakley County $50,000

White County $50,000

Wilson County $50,000

How was the amount calculated?

"Tribal governments" are ones that are recognized as the governing body of any Indian or Alaska Native tribe, band, nation, pueblo, village, community, component band, or component reservation, individually identified (including parenthetically) in the list published most recently as of the date of enactment of the American Rescue Plan pursuant to section 104 of the Federally Recognized Indian Tribe List Act of 1994 (25 U.S.C. 1531).

“Eligible revenue sharing counties” is defined under ARPA to include any county, parish, or borough:

  • That is independent of any other unit of local government
  • That is the principal provider of government services
  • For which, as determined by Treasury, there is a negative revenue impact due to a federal program or changes to such program

The formula is based on the federal acreage within each unit of local government, as defined by the Payments in Lieu of Taxes (PILT) program and the Refuge Revenue Sharing program under the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.  Population levels and various economic conditions (historic poverty levels, unemployment, etc.) were also factored in as required by statute. This document details the method.

How can I pull down my county’s allocation? Request it via the Treasury Submission Portal that you have used to pull down your ARPA monies. Eligible revenue sharing counties must request funding by January 31, 2023, at 11:59 PM AKST.

If the eligible county does not complete its submission by the deadline, it will no longer be eligible for either the first or second payment under the LATCF.

What can LATCF be used for? Generally, a county may use this money for any governmental purpose other than a lobbying activity. Programs, services, and capital expenditures that are traditionally undertaken by a government are considered to fulfill a “governmental purpose.” Recipients should refer to the Local Assistance and Tribal Consistency Fund guidance for more information on eligible and ineligible uses.

Do I have to report? Yes, this is similar to the American Rescue Plan reporting. A county will submit an annual project and expenditure report as well as certify that funds were not used for lobbying activities. Treasury has released detailed reporting guidance.

If you have any questions about the LATCF, please email