

May 19, 2024

Elections - Historical Notes

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Table of Contents

Elections - Historical Notes

Districts - Reapportionment

The acts listed below have affected the civil districts in Union County, but are no longer operative regarding elections. Also referenced below are acts which repeal prior law without providing new substantive provisions.

- 1. Public Acts of 1867-68, Chapter 82, created an additional civil district out of parts of the ninth and eleventh civil districts of Union County to be known and designated as the twelfth civil district. The quarterly county court designated the boundaries and the polling place in the new district.
- 2. Public Acts of 1870-71, Chapter 90, created a new civil district in Union County to be composed of that section of the county lying north of Powell's River.

Elections

The following is a listing of acts for Union County which affected the elective process, but which have been superseded or repealed. They are listed here for historical and reference purposes. Also referenced below are acts which repeal prior law without providing new substantive provisions.

- 1. Public Acts of 1865, Chapter 34, divided the state into congressional districts for the election of representatives to the United States Congress. The counties of Union, Claiborne, Knox, Campbell, Scott, Morgan, Anderson, Blount, Monroe, Polk, McMinn, Bradley, and Roane were placed in the second congressional district.
- 2. Public Acts of 1867-68, Chapter 5, provided that the place heretofore designated to compare the vote in the fourth senatorial district, composed of Union, Grainger, Claiborne, Campbell and Anderson counties, be changed from Sharp's Mill to Maynardville in Union County. The polls were compared on the first Monday after each senatorial election.
- 3. Public Acts of 1871, Chapter 146, apportioned the representation in the general assembly of the state by creating senatorial districts and providing for the election of representatives by the counties of the state. The counties of Union, Campbell, and Scott counties composed the fourth senatorial district. Union, Campbell and Scott counties jointly elected one representative.
- 4. Acts of 1872, Called Session, Chapter 7, divided the state into congressional districts for the election of representatives to the United States Congress. Union, Johnson, Carter, Sullivan, Washington, Hawkins, Greene, Hancock, Claiborne, Grainger, Hamblen and Cocke counties composed the first congressional district.
- 5. Public Acts of 1873, Chapter 27, divided the state into congressional districts for the election of representatives to the United States Congress. Union, Jefferson, Sevier, Blount, Monroe, Loudon, Roane, Knox, Anderson, Campbell, Scott and Morgan counties composed the second congressional district.
- 6. Public Acts of 1881, Extra Session, Chapter 6, apportioned the representation in the general assembly of the state by creating senatorial districts and providing for the election of representatives by the counties of the state. The counties of Union, Claiborne, Grainger, Campbell and Scott composed the fourth senatorial district. Union and Campbell counties jointly elected one representative.
- 7. Public Acts of 1882, Extra Session, Chapter 27, divided the state into congressional districts for the election of representatives to the United States Congress. Union, Jefferson, Sevier, Blount, Knox, Loudon, Roane, Anderson, Morgan, Campbell and Scott counties composed the second congressional district.
- Public Acts of 1891, Chapter 131, divided the state into congressional districts for the election of representatives to the United States Congress. The counties of Union, Jefferson, Sevier, Blount, Knox, Loudon, Roane, Anderson, Morgan, Campbell and Scott composed the second congressional district.
- 9. Acts of 1891, Extra Session, Chapter 10, apportioned the representation in the general assembly of the state by creating senatorial districts and providing for the election of representatives by the counties of the state. Union, Hancock, Grainger, Claiborne, and Campbell counties composed the third state senatorial district. Knox and Union counties jointly elected one representative in the third representative district.
- 10. Public Acts of 1901, Chapter 109, divided the state into congressional districts for the election of representatives to the United States Congress. The counties of Union, Hamblen, Jefferson, Knox, Blount, Loudon, Roane, Scott, Anderson and Campbell composed the second congressional

district.

- 11. Public Acts of 1901, Chapter 122, apportioned the representation in the general assembly of the state by creating senatorial districts and providing for the election of representatives by the counties of the state. Union, Scott, Hancock, Grainger, Claiborne and Campbell counties composed the third senatorial district. Union, Scott and Campbell counties jointly elected one representative in the sixth representative district. This act was amended by Acts of 1905, Chapter 463, so as to move some counties from one district to another in order to distribute the population more evenly. The third state senatorial district was composed of Union, Hancock, Hawkins, Grainger, Claiborne, Campbell, and Scott counties but there were no other changes in which Union County was involved.
- 12. Private Acts of 1943, Chapter 404, provided that all polling places in Union County would remain a
- 13. Private Acts of 1949, Chapter 665, stated that all officers, judges, clerks, and other election officia

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/elections-historical-notes-30