

Chapter VII - Elections

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

County Executive	e Committee	
-		
Elections - Histo	rical Notes	

Chapter VII - Elections

County Executive Committee

Private Acts of 1974 Chapter 205

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 2-104, subsection (5), states that "County executive committee' means a political party's authoritative county body which is constituted either under the law or under the rules of the political party"; now, therefore,

SECTION 1. The members of the county executive committee of the democratic party within Crockett County shall be elected from magisterial districts by the registered voters who are members of the democratic party. Such election shall be held at the same time as the primary election provided for in Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 2-1315. The number of persons to be elected from each magisterial district shall be fixed by the incumbent county executive committee of the democratic party, provided that the committee shall require the same number of persons to be elected from each magisterial district. Persons elected to such office shall serve for two (2) years and until their successors are elected and qualified.

As amended by:

Private Acts of 1974, Chapter 380

SECTION 2. This Act shall have no effect unless it is approved by a two-thirds (2/3) vote of the Quarterly County Court of Crockett County within thirty (30) days of its passage. Its approval or non-approval shall be proclaimed by the presiding officer of the Quarterly County Court of Crockett County and certified by him to the Secretary of State.

SECTION 3. For the purpose of approving or rejecting the provisions of this Act, it shall be effective upon becoming a law, the public welfare requiring it. For all other purposes, it shall become effective upon being approved as provided in Section 2.

Passed: February 20, 1974.

Elections - Historical Notes

The following is a listing of acts for Crockett County which affected the elective process, but which have been superseded or repealed. They are listed here for historical and reference purposes. Also referenced below are acts which repeal prior law without providing new substantive provisions.

- 1. Acts of 1851-52, Chapter 196, divided Tennessee into ten (10) U. S. Congressional Districts, but did not assign Crockett County, newly created, to any district. The Act provided for the people in any new county to vote with the people in the old county from which their county was taken in statewide elections and Federal elections until the next apportionment of representation in the General Assembly.
- 2. Acts of 1851-52, Chapter 197, divided Tennessee into Congressional Districts and provided for people in new counties to vote in the County from which their County was taken until the next apportionment.
- 3. Acts of 1872 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 7, divided the State into nine (9) U. S. Congressional Districts. Crockett County composed the Eighth Congressional District along with Madison, Haywood, Lauderdale, Dyer, Gibson, Weakley, Obion and Lake counties.
- 4. Public Acts of 1873, Chapter 27, apportioned the State into ten (10) Congressional Districts. Weakley, Obion, Lake, Dyer, Gibson, Haywood, Tipton, Lauderdale and Crockett counties composed the Ninth U. S. Congressional District.
- Public Acts of 1881 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 6, apportioned the State into Senatorial and Representative Districts for election of individuals to the General Assembly. The Act provided for Crockett County to elect one (1) Representative separately. Crockett composed the Thirteenth Senatorial District.
- Public Acts of 1882 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 27, reapportioned the State into ten (10) U. S. Congressional Districts. The Ninth District was composed of Weakley, Gibson, Haywood, Lauderdale, Dyer, Obion, Lake and Crockett counties.
- 7. Public Acts of 1890 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 25, was a statewide law which required registration of voters in counties, towns, cities and civil districts having the populations set forth in the Act. The

Act authorized the Governor to appoint three (3) Commissioners of Registration who would in turn appoint Registrars. The duties and powers for the Registrars and the Commissioners of Registration were prescribed in the Act.

- 8. Acts of 1891 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 10, apportioned Tennessee into Senatorial and Representative Districts. The Act provided for Crockett County to elect one (1) Representative and for Crockett County to compose the Twenty-Ninth Senatorial District with Gibson County.
- 9. Acts of 1899, Chapter 325, ratified an election held by the Sheriff of Crockett County in the town of Gadsden, wherein the municipal officers of said town were elected.
- 10. Public Acts of 1901, Chapter 109, divided the State into ten (10) U. S. Congressional Districts. The Ninth District was composed of Gibson, Weakley, Obion, Lake, Dyer, Lauderdale, Haywood and Crockett counties.
- 11. Public Acts of 1901, Chapter 122, apportioned the State into representative and Senatorial Districts. Crockett County composed the Twenty-Ninth Senatorial District along with Dyer and Lauderdale counties. Crockett County would elect one (1) Representative to the General Assembly.
- 12. Private Acts of 1921, Chapter 751, amended Public Acts of 1890 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 25, above, by exempting Crockett County from the provisions of the 1890 Act which had provided for the registration of voters before they could vote in counties having certain populations.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/chapter-vii-elections-15