

Chapter VII - Elections

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Chapter VII - Elections	

Chapter VII - Elections

Elections - Historical Notes

Elections

The following is a listing of acts for Chester County which affected the elective process, but which have been superseded or repealed. They are listed here for historical and reference purposes.

- 1. Public Acts of 1891, Chapter 131, apportioned the state into ten (10) Districts for the election of Representatives to the United States Congress. Henry, Benton, Perry, Decatur, Hardin, McNairy, Henderson, Madison, Carroll, and Chester Counties comprised the Eighth Congressional District.
- 2. Acts of 1891 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 10, reapportioned the State into Senatorial and Representative Districts for election to the General Assembly. The Act provided for Chester to elect and share one (1) Representative jointly, with Madison. Chester, Hardeman and McNairy Counties composed the Twenty-seventh State Senatorial District.
- 3. Public Acts of 1901, Chapter 109, apportioned the State into ten (10) U.S. Congressional Districts. The Eighth District was composed of Chester, Henry, Benton, Perry, Carroll, Decatur, Henderson, Madison, McNairy, and Hardin Counties.
- 4. Public Acts of 1901, Chapter 122, reorganized the congressional districts of the State into thirty-three (33) Senatorial Districts. Madison, Henderson and Chester counties comprised the Twenty-Fifth Senatorial District. Chester, Haywood and Henderson County would elect one (1) Representative jointly.
- 5. Private Acts of 1939, Chapter 437, authorized the County Board of Election Commissioners to conduct an election for the purpose of determining the will of the qualified voters of Chester County on the issues of (1) creating the office of county judge, (2) creating the office of Purchasing Agent, (3) the election of the Road Supervisor by popular vote, (4) the election of the Superintendent of Education by popular vote, (5) the election of the Tax Assessor by popular vote, and (6) the election of members of the Board of Education by popular vote. The ballot form was written into the Act.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/chapter-vii-elections-10