

## **Chapter VII - Elections**

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Chapter VII - Elections	

## Chapter VII - Elections

## Elections - Historical Notes

## **Elections**

The following is a listing of acts for Lewis County which affected the elective process, but which have been superseded or repealed. They are listed here for historical and reference purposes.

- 1. Acts of 1865, Chapter 34, divided Tennessee into eight U. S. Congressional Districts in the aftermath of the Civil War. The Sixth U. S. Congressional District was composed of the counties of Lawrence, Wayne, Hardin, Decatur, Perry, Lewis, Maury, Hickman, Humphreys, Dickson, Montgomery and Stewart.
- 2. Acts of 1869-70, Chapter 105, was the legal authority for a referendum to be held across the State on the question of calling a Constitutional Convention. The Ballot would simply be marked either "For" or "Against." If approved, another election would be held to provide 75delegates to the Convention which number was in accord with the combined number of State Senators and Representatives in the General Assembly at that time.
- 3. Acts of 1871, Chapter 9, formed nine U. S. Congressional Districts in Tennessee. The Sixth District contained the counties of Williamson, Maury, Giles, Lawrence, Wayne, Lewis, Hickman and Dickson.
- 4. Acts of 1871, Chapter 146, reapportioned the State for representation in the General Assembly. The 15th State Senatorial District was made up of the counties of Giles, Lawrence, Wayne and Lewis. The counties of Hickman, Perry, and Lewis would jointly elect one Representative to the General Assembly.
- 5. Acts of 1873, Chapter 27, separated the State into ten U. S. Congressional Districts probably due to the 1870 census. The 7th U. S. Congressional District included the counties of Wayne, Lawrence, Giles, Lewis, Maury, Hickman and Williamson.
- 6. Acts of 1881 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 5, set permanently the number of Senators in the General Assembly to be 33 and the number of Representatives to be 99.
- Acts of 1881 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 6, established the Senatorial and Representative Districts across the State to conform with the terms of Chapter 5, Item 6, above. Lewis County, Perry County and Decatur County, would join together to elect one Representative to the General Assembly. The 18th Senatorial District was comprised of the counties of Maury and Lewis.
- 8. Acts of 1882, Chapter 27, was almost a duplicate of Acts of 1873, Chapter 27, above, dividing Tennessee into ten U. S. Congressional Districts. The Seventh U. S. Congressional District contained the counties of Williamson, Maury, Giles, Lawrence, Wayne, Lewis, Hickman and Dickson.
- 9. Acts of 1891, Chapter 131, delineated the ten U. S. Congressional Districts in Tennessee according to the 1890 Federal Census count. The counties of Williamson, Maury, Giles, Lawrence, Wayne, Lewis, Hickman and Dickson constituted the Seventh U. S. Congressional District.
- Acts of 1891 (Ex. Sess.), Chapter 10, redistricted Tennessee for the General Assembly into districts based on the 1890 Census. Giles County, Maury County, Lewis County, and Williamson County would jointly elect one Representative. The 19th State Senatorial District was composed of the counties of Maury, Perry and Lewis.
- 11. Acts of 1901, Chapter 109, assigned the counties of Houston, Humphreys, Dickson, Hickman, Williamson, Lewis, Maury, Giles, Lawrence, and Wayne to the Seventh of the ten U.S. Congressional Districts into which the State had been divided.
- 12. Acts of 1901, Chapter 122, apportioned Tennessee into the Senatorial and Representative Districts of the General Assembly for the last time until over sixty years had passed. The counties of Giles, Lawrence, Lewis and Wayne, would jointly elect one State Representative. The 20th State Senatorial District was made up of the counties of Maury, Perry and Lewis.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/chapter-vii-elections-80