

Chapter VII - Elections

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Chapter VII - Elections	

Chapter VII - Elections

Elections - Historical Notes

Districts - Reapportionment

The acts listed below have affected the civil districts in Loudon County, but are no longer operative regarding elections. Also referenced below are acts which repeal prior law without providing new substantive provisions.

- 1. Public Acts of 1870, Chapter 2, which created Christiana County, authorized the first board of commissioners to organize the county into at least ten districts.
- Acts of 1903, Chapter 66, abolished certain districts of Loudon County, regulated the manner of increasing the district in the county and abolished the offices of justice of the peace and other district offices int he abolished districts. This act was amended by Private Acts of 1919, Chapter 83, so as to the Loudon County Court the authority to changed the lines between the civil districts of the county.
- 3. Acts of 1903, Chapter 284, changed the civil district lines between the second and third, and the second and first civil districts of Loudon County.
- 4. Private Acts of 1915, Chapter 621, changed the line between the fourth and fifth civil districts of Loudon County so as to include the farm of W. H. Dyche in the fourth civil district.
- 5. Private Acts of 1919, Chapter 69, created the sixth civil district in Loudon County, provided for the election of officers of said district and fixed the voting places therein. This act was amended by Private Acts of 1919, Chapter 372, so as to "more specifically define and establish the lines" of the sixth civil district. Private Acts of 1919, Chapter 69, was repealed by Private Acts of 1937, Chapter 809.
- 6. Private Acts of 1935, Chapter 489, changed the boundary between the first and fourth civil districts to include the farms of Jim Thomas, John Grimes, Sr. and L.D. Windle in the first civil district.
- 7. Private Acts of 1951, Chapter 145, realigned the civil districts of Loudon County by abolishing the fifth civil district.
- 8. Private Acts of 1951, Chapter 413, changed the boundary line between the first and third civil districts in Loudon County.
- 9. Private Acts of 1959, Chapter 92, created the fifth civil district of Loudon County; provided for the election of justices of the peace and constable for said district and fixed the voting precincts therein. This act was amended by Private Acts of 1959, Chapter 339, so as to extend the time for calling and holding the referendum required by section 5 of said act.

Elections

The following is a listing of acts for Loudon County which affected the elective process, but which have been superseded or repealed. They are listed here for historical and reference purposes. Also referenced below are acts which repeal prior law without providing new substantive provisions.

- 1. Public Acts of 1871, Chapter 146, apportioned the representation in the general assembly of the state by creating senatorial districts and providing for the election of representatives by the counties of the state. The counties of Loudon, Monroe, McMinn, Meigs, Bradley and Polk composed the sixth senatorial district. Loudon and Monroe counties jointly elected one representative.
- 2. Acts of 1872, Extra Session, Chapter 7, divided the state into congressional districts for the election of representatives to United States Congress. Loudon, Roane, Monroe, McMinn, Meigs, Rhea, Polk, Bradley, James, Hamilton, Marion, Sequatchie, Bledsoe, Grundy, Van Buren and Warren counties composed the third congressional district.
- 3. Public Acts of 1873, Chapter 27, divided the state into congressional districts for the election of representatives to United States Congress. Loudon, Jefferson, Sevier, Blount, Monroe, Roane, Knox, Anderson, Campbell, Scott, Morgan and Union composed the second congressional district.
- 4. Public Acts of 1881, Extra Session, Chapter 6, apportioned the representation in the general assembly of the state by creating senatorial districts and providing for the election of representatives by the counties of the state. The counties of Loudon, Blount, Monroe and Roane composed the sixth senatorial district. Loudon and Knox counties jointly elected one representative.

- 5. Public Acts of 1882, Second Session, Chapter 27, divided the state into congressional districts for the election of representatives to United States Congress. Loudon, Jefferson, Union, Sevier, Blount, Knox, Roane, Anderson, Morgan, Campbell and Scott composed the second congressional district.
- 6. Public Acts of 1891, Chapter 131, divided the state into congressional districts for the election of representatives to United States Congress. Loudon, Jefferson, Union, Sevier, Blount, Knox, Roane, Anderson, Morgan, Campbell and Scott composed the second congressional district.
- 7. Acts of 1891, Extra Session, Chapter 10, apportioned the representation in the general assembly of the state by creating senatorial districts and providing for the election of representatives by the counties of the state. The counties of Loudon, Anderson, Meigs, Blount and Roane. Loudon, Polk and Monroe counties jointly elected a representative in the fifth representative district.
- 8. Public Acts of 1901, Chapter 109, divided the state into congressional districts for the election of representatives to United States Congress. Loudon, Hamblen, Jefferson, Knox, Blount, Roane, Scott, Anderson, Campbell and Union counties composed the second congressional district.
- 9. Public Acts of 1901, Chapter 122, apportioned the representation in the general assembly of the state by creating senatorial districts and providing for the election of representatives by the counties of the state. The counties of Loudon, Knox, Monroe and Polk composed the sixth senatorial district. Loudon and Knox jointly elected a representative in the eighth representative district.
- 10. Private Acts of 1917, Chapter 738, provided that registration of voters in Loudon County was not a prerequisite to voting. This act was not applicable to incorporated cities in Loudon County, and it was amended by Private Acts of 1923, Chapter 294, to provide that it would not apply to any incorporated town in Loudon County.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/chapter-vii-elections-78