

May 16, 2024

Gibson County Utility District

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Table of Contents

Gibson County Utility District	
Private Acts of 1953 Chapter 192	

Gibson County Utility District Private Acts of 1953 Chapter 192

SECTION 1. That an Order of the County Court entered by the County Judge of Gibson County, Tennessee on June 29, 1951 creating the Gibson County Utility District of Gibson County, Tennessee and having as its territorial limits all that area presently served by the Gibson County Utility District of Gibson County, Tennessee, including but not limited to all of the Civil Districts of Gibson County, Tennessee, with the exception of the area presently served by the Humboldt Municipal Utility Department of Humboldt, Tennessee, and appointing J. 0. Long of Trenton, Tennessee, C. C. Berry of Dyer, Tennessee, and Floyd Burrow of Milan, Tennessee as Commissioners of said District, is hereby validated, legalized and confirmed.

As amended by:

Private Acts of 1990, Chapter 197

SECTION 2. That the minutes of the organization meeting of the Board of Commissioners on July 5, 195 1, wherein C. C. Berry was elected as President of the Board and Floyd Burrow was elected Secretary of the Board, is hereby validated, legalized and confirmed.

SECTION 3. That the Resolutions adopted by the Board of Commissioners naming L. E. Haguewood, Rutherford, Tennessee, for a term of five years, and Joe Warren, Kenton, Tennessee, for term of six years as Co-Commissioners of said District is hereby validated, legalized and confirmed, and the said Co-Commissioners shall henceforth be known and designated as Commissioners and, together and equally with the Commissioners appointed by the County Court as aforesaid, shall constitute the Board of Commissioners of the Gibson County Utility District of Gibson County, Tennessee.

SECTION 4. Notwithstanding the provisions of this chapter or any other law to the contrary, the Gibson County Utility District of Gibson County, Tennessee, shall be governed by a board of commissioners, members of which shall be elected by the people at the county general elections in 2002 and every two (2) years thereafter. The Commissioners shall be elected from all of the voting precincts of Gibson County, with the exception of the area served by the Humboldt Municipal Utility Department of Humboldt, Tennessee. The Gibson County Legislative Body shall periodically prescribe and apportion electoral districts for the board of commissioners in such a way that the principle of "one man, one vote" is followed as closely as possible, without dividing voting precincts. Individuals may run for the office of commissioner from the district in which they reside or own property.

The terms of the commissioners of the Gibson County Utility District taking office September 1, 2002, shall be staggered as follows:

District No. 1 - -4 years District No. 2 - -2 years District No. 3 - -4 years District No. 4 - -2 years District No. 5 - -4 years

Thereafter, each commissioner shall be elected to a four (4) year term. The commissioners taking office September 1, 2002, shall serve no more than two (2) full four-year terms in addition to any term of less than four (4) years.

In the event of a vacancy in the office of commissioners as a result of death, resignation, removal or moving from the district from which the commissioner is elected, the county executive, with the approval of the county legislative body, shall have the power to appoint a qualified person to fill such vacancy.

All other duties, rights, compensation, and powers of the Commissioners of the Gibson County Utility district shall be governed by the Utility District Act of 1937.

As amended by: Private Acts of 2002, Chapter 141

SECTION 5. That this Act shall take effect from and after its passage, the public welfare requiring it.

Passed: March 19, 1953.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/gibson-county-utility-district