

Creation of the County

Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

Creation of the County
Acts of 1796 (1st Sess.) Chapter 30

Creation of the County

Acts of 1796 (1st Sess.) Chapter 30

<u>COMPILER'S NOTE</u>: Sections 2 through 7 of this act relate to Robertson County and are not reprinted here.

SECTION 1. That the county of Tennessee be divided by a line as follows, viz. Beginning at the upper end of the first bluff above James McFarlin's on Red River, near Allin's Cabbins, running from thence a direct course to the Sulphor Fork, one quarter of a mile below Elias Fort's, thence up the creek, as it meanders, to the mouth of Brush Creek, thence up the same, as it meanders, to the head, thence a direct course to the Davidson county line, at the mouth of Sycamore Creek, thence up said Sycamore Creek, with the Davidson county line, to the Sumner county line, thence with the extreme height of the dividing ridge, eastwardly to the Kentucky road, leading from Nashville, thence northwardly, with said road, to the Kentucky state line, thence west with said line, to such place as a south east course, leaving Joseph French in the lower county, will strike the beginning; And all that part contained in the said boundary henceforth be erected into a new and distinct county, by the name of Robertson; and the other part thereof be and remain a separate and distinct county, by the name of Montgomery.

SECTION 8. That Barclay William Pollock and Joseph Carmack, be appointed commissioners, who are authorized to run the dividing lines between the aforesaid counties, that is, where they are not already run, or particularly pointed out by natural boundaries; for which services each of the commissioners shall be allowed two dollars per day, and the markers each one dollar per day, the expenses to be equally paid by the aforesaid counties.

SECTION 9. That all proceedings, now pending in the county court of Tennessee, shall be proceeded on, and determined in that part of said county, now called Montgomery, in the same manner as if this law had not passed.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/creation-county-57