

May 09, 2024

## Creation of the Districts

## Dear Reader:

The following document was created from the CTAS website (ctas.tennessee.edu). This website is maintained by CTAS staff and seeks to represent the most current information regarding issues relative to Tennessee county government.

We hope this information will be useful to you; reference to it will assist you with many of the questions that will arise in your tenure with county government. However, the *Tennessee Code Annotated* and other relevant laws or regulations should always be consulted before any action is taken based upon the contents of this document.

Please feel free to contact us if you have questions or comments regarding this information or any other CTAS website material.

Sincerely,

The University of Tennessee County Technical Assistance Service 226 Anne Dallas Dudley Boulevard, Suite 400 Nashville, Tennessee 37219 615.532.3555 phone 615.532.3699 fax www.ctas.tennessee.edu

## Table of Contents

Creation of the Districts	.3
Private Acts of 1941 Chapter 135	. 3

## Creation of the Districts Private Acts of 1941 Chapter 135

**COMPILER'S NOTE**: This act establishes the civil districts of Moore County, which are not necessarily the county legislative body districts. Tennessee Code Annotated 5-1-111 now requires reapportionment of county legislative districts at least once every ten years, and this can be done by resolution of the county legislative body.

**SECTION 1**. That in counties of this State having a population of not less than 4,050, nor more than 4,100, by the Federal Census of 1940, or any subsequent Federal Census, there shall be eleven civil districts. The first civil district thereof shall be composed of the territory embraced in the First Civil District of said County as it existed on January 1, 1939. Lyndon Simpson, Harry Baxter and Will Bailey are hereby named as justices of the peace for said district to serve until September 1, 1942, and until their successors shall be elected and qualified. The Second Civil District of said County shall be composed of the Second Civil District as it existed on January 1, 1939. John M. Walker and John Neal are hereby designated as justices of the peace of said civil district until September 1, 1942. The Third Civil District of said County shall be composed of the territory embraced in the Third Civil District thereof as it existed on January 1, 1939. Claude J. Harrison and Guy Golden are hereby designated as justices of the peace for said Third Civil District to serve until September 1, 1942.

The Fourth Civil District shall embrace the territory included in the Fourth Civil District as it existed on January 1, 1939. Frank Lesley and Roy C. Matlock are hereby designated as justices of the peace of said civil district to serve until September 1, 1942, or until their successors are elected and qualified.

The Fifth Civil District of said County shall be composed of the Fifth Civil District thereof as it existed on January 1, 1939. W. C. Sullenger and Hugh D. Smith are hereby designated as justices of the peace for said civil district until September 1, 1942, and until their successors shall be elected and qualified.

The Sixth Civil District of said County shall be composed of the territory embraced in the Sixth Civil District thereof as it existed on January 1, 1939. Jeff S. Casey and Will L. Baits are hereby designated as justices of the peace for said civil district until September 1, 1942, or until their successors shall be elected and qualified.

The Seventh Civil District of said County shall be composed of the Seventh Civil District thereof as it existed on January 1, 1939. W. L. Robertson and John S. Woodard are hereby designated as justices of the peace for said civil district until September 1, 1942, or until their successors shall be elected and qualified.

The Eighth Civil District of said County shall be composed of the Eighth Civil District thereof as it existed on January 1, 1939. L. A. Redd and Frank Corder are hereby designated as justices of the peace for said civil district until September 1, 1942, or until their successors shall be elected and qualified.

The Ninth Civil District of said County shall be composed of the Ninth Civil District thereof as it existed on January 1, 1939. Emmett Stone and R. S. Bedford are hereby designated as justices of the peace for said civil district until September 1, 1942, or until their successors shall be elected and qualified.

The Tenth Civil District of said County shall be composed of the Tenth Civil District as it existed on January 1, 1939. James Short and W. Riley Ray are hereby designated as justices of the peace for said civil district until September 1, 1942, or until their successors shall be elected and qualified.

The Eleventh Civil District of said County shall be composed of the Eleventh Civil District thereof as it existed on January 1, 1939. H. C. Prince and Will Cleek are hereby designated as justices of the peace for said civil district until September 1, 1942, or until their successors shall be elected and qualified.

At the August election, 1942, there shall be elected from the First Civil District of said County, it being the district containing the county seat, three magistrates and two constables, and from each of the other districts there shall be elected two magistrates and one constable, who shall hold their offices for the constitutional period. Lyndon Simpson is hereby designated as Chairman of the County Court to exercise the functions of that office until such time as the said County Court can meet and organize by electing a Chairman by the votes of its own members.

**SECTION 2**. That this Act shall take effect from and after its passage, the public welfare requiring it.

Passed: January 29, 1941.

Source URL: https://www.ctas.tennessee.edu/private-acts/creation-districts