Skip to main content


511 West 2nd North Street
Morristown, TN 37814
(423) 586-1931

Hamblen County Demographics

Year Originated: 1870
County Structure: Traditional
Development District: East Tennessee Development District
Judicial District: 3
2020 Population: 64,499
2020 Population per Square Mile: 400.61
2010 Population: 62,544
County Road Miles: 406.00
Number of Parcels: 31,459

Incorporated Cities or Towns: Morristown (29137), White Pine (2196)

Hamblen County Legal Authority

Fiscal Procedures Law: General Law
Budgeting Law: General Law, Private Acts of 1979 Chapter 101
Purchasing Law: County Purchasing Law of 1983
Hamblen County Private Acts
County Mayor Bill H Brittain (423)586-1931
Hwy Chief Admin Off Barry G. Poole (423)586-3273
Administrator of Elections Jeff Gardner (423) 586-7169
Assessor of Property Keith Ely (423) 586-1852
Circuit Court Clerk Teresa L West (423) 586-5640
Clerk & Master Kathy Jones-Terry (423) 586-9112
County Clerk Penny C Petty (423) 586-1993
Director of Schools Dr. Jeff Perry (423) 586-7700
General Sessions Court Judge Wayne D. Collins
General Sessions Court Judge Janice H. Snider (423) 587-1239
Juvenile Court Judge Ms. Janice Snider (423) 587-1239
Register of Deeds Jim R Clawson (423) 586-6551
Sheriff Esco R Jarnagin (423) 586-3781
Solid Waste Director Mr. Dan Winter (423) 581-8784
Trustee Scotty Long (423) 586-6290
Number of Commissioners: 14
Number of Commission Districts: 14
County Legislative Meeting Information: 5:00 p.m. - Thursday following 3rd Monday

County Commissioner Jeff J Akard (423)307-9426
County Commissioner Christopher J Cutshaw (423)312-0667
County Commissioner Randall B Debord (423)317-9317
County Commissioner Thomas A Doty (423)748-3252
County Commissioner Tim E Goins (423)231-6866
County Commissioner Robert A Haun (423)312-9051
County Commissioner Timothy L Horner (423)586-9900
County Commissioner Joe T Huntsman Sr (423) 581-9153
County Commissioner Randall S Long (423)581-1519
County Commissioner Wayne Nesmith (423)312-1120
County Commissioner Howard E Shipley (423) 581-1092
County Commissioner James C Stepp (423)231-5524
County Commissioner VACANT VACANT
County Commissioner George T Ward Jr (423)231-1095
Highway Commissioner Charles Anderson
Highway Commissioner Mr. Dannie Bell
Highway Commissioner Gail Free
Highway Commissioner Tom Hyde
Highway Commissioner E. C. Long
Highway Commissioner Delbert Nix
Highway Commissioner Wayne Pigmon

CTAS Consultants

County Government Consultant: Rick Hall
Environmental Consultant: Kim Raia
Assessor Consultant: Gabe Looney
Criminal Justice Consultant: John Rose
Jail Administration Consultant: Jim Hart